Tanx/Zinc Alloy [Deluxe Edition]

Tanx/Zinc Alloy [Deluxe Edition]

by T. Rex


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Tanx/Zinc Alloy [Deluxe Edition]

While many stateside listeners never got much deeper into T. Rex and Marc Bolan's massive catalog than the boogie glam fun of "Bang a Gong (Get It On)," Bolan spent much of his life as an ever-morphing pop star in his U.K. home, recording hits and even living on as a television personality until his death in 1977. This massive repackaging of Tanx/Zinc Alloy inspects a two-year period in Bolan's glam rock phase, which could be looked upon as transitional, moving away from the woozy, sexy hard rock of Electric Warrior and The Slider into far more soul-inflected pop fare. When Tanx and Zinc Alloy appeared in 1973 and 1974, respectively, they were initially seen as commercially disappointing, with depleted sales and far less in the way of hits than their predecessors. The expanded instrumentation and production trickery of the albums would age better than it seemed, however, and songs from this time seemed to point at an embrace of soul backup singers, string arrangements, and other slick pop elements that Bowie would enjoy massive success with a few years later on his Young Americans album. Tanx/Zinc Alloy in this Deluxe Edition presentation includes both albums and singles from their respective periods remastered in full by original producer Tony Visconti (with assistance from Ted Jensen) as well as track after track of demos, outtakes, alternate versions, and other scraps from the cutting-room floor. All told, the collection includes more than 80 tracks from this particular period of Bolan's oeuvre. Though less celebrated than his best-loved hits, the highlights here are among some of his best-written songs, and the production choices he was making on these records were far more interesting than the straightforward rock of his first few T. Rex albums, despite their superior overall quality. This set is a must for any completist and will reveal much to anyone interested in Bolan's curious, inspired paths of development.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 5014797890589
catalogNumber: 2513056


Disc 1

  1. Tenement Lady
  2. Rapids
  3. Mister Mister
  4. Broken-Hearted Blues
  5. Shock Rock
  6. Country Honey
  7. Electric Slim And The Factory Hen
  8. Mad Donna
  9. Born To Boogie
  10. Life Is Strange
  11. The Street and Babe Shadow
  12. Highway Knees
  13. Left Hand Luke And The Beggar Boys

Disc 2

  1. Children of the Revolution
  2. Jitterbug Love
  3. Sunken Rags
  4. Solid Gold Easy Action
  5. Xmas Riff
  6. 20th Century Boy
  7. Free Angel
  8. Pepsi Jingle
  9. Mister Motion
  10. The Street & Babe Shadow
  11. Free Angel
  12. Rapids
  13. Life Is Strange
  14. Mister Mister
  15. Jitterbug Love 44
  16. Country Honey
  17. Highway Knees
  18. Mad Donna
  19. Electric Slim & the Factory Hen [Demo Versi
  20. Left Hand Luke
  21. Free Angel
  22. Fast Blues - Easy Action
  23. Sunken Rags
  24. Xmas Fan Club Flexi

Disc 3

  1. Venus Loon
  2. Sound Pit
  3. Explosive Mouth
  4. Galaxy
  5. Change
  6. Nameless Wildness
  7. Teenage Dream
  8. Liquid Gang
  9. Carsmile Smith and the Old One
  10. You’Ve Got To Jive To Stay Alive – Spanish Midnight
  11. Interstellar Soul
  12. Painless Persuasion v. The Meathawk Immaculate
  13. The Avengers (Superbad)
  14. The Leopards

Disc 4

  1. The Groover
  2. Midnight
  3. Truck On (Tyke)
  4. Sitting Here
  5. Satisfaction Pony
  6. Black Jack
  7. Squint Eye Mangle
  8. Geraldine & The Mighty Slug
  9. Change
  10. The Avengers (Superbad)
  11. Galaxy
  12. Carsmile Smith & the Old One
  13. Spanish Midnight
  14. Sitting There/Here
  15. Look To Your Soul
  16. Gardenia & The Mighty Slug
  17. Groover
  18. Truck On (Tyke)
  19. Saturday Night
  20. Dance In The Midnight
  21. Down Home Lady
  22. Saturation Syncopation
  23. Delanie
  24. All My Love
  25. Hope You Enjoy The Show
  26. Saturday Night
  27. Interview

Disc 5

  1. Children Of The Revolution
  2. Solid Gold Easy Action
  3. Mad Donna
  4. The Groover
  5. Teenage Dream
  6. Children Of The Revolution

Album Credits

Performance Credits

T. Rex   Primary Artist
Sue & Sunny   Background Vocals
Mickey Finn   Conga,Vocals,Hand Percussion
Marc Bolan   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Bass Harmonica
Steve Currie   Bass
Tony Visconti   Background Vocals,Mellotron
Bill Legend   Drums
Leslie Duncan   Background Vocals
Howard Casey   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Marc Bolan   Composer,Producer
Tony Visconti   Producer,Liner Notes,String Arrangements
Mark Paytress   Liner Notes
John Kosh   Cover Design
Peter Howe   Cover Photo
Mike Putland   Back Cover Photo
Jools Williamson   Artwork
Ian Williamson   Retouching

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews