×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tap to Play!
     

Tap to Play!

by Salina Yoon
 

In this interactive video-game-inspired picture book perfect for fans of Press Here and Tap the Magic Tree, Blip needs to reach the bar to win his game—but he needs the reader’s help. If he wins, he gets a surprise!

Tap, tickle, and shake Blip.

Tilt, turn, and bounce Blip.

Help Blip win the game in this spirited

Overview

In this interactive video-game-inspired picture book perfect for fans of Press Here and Tap the Magic Tree, Blip needs to reach the bar to win his game—but he needs the reader’s help. If he wins, he gets a surprise!

Tap, tickle, and shake Blip.

Tilt, turn, and bounce Blip.

Help Blip win the game in this spirited interactive book, perfect for reading—and playing—again and again!

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
08/18/2014
In a book channeling the aesthetic and interactivity of an app (the glossy pages are even suggestive of a touch screen), Yoon introduces Blip, a red dot with eyes and legs who asks readers for help. “I need to reach that bar to win the game,” he says from the corner of a blank white spread, a blue bar appearing diagonally opposite. First, he requests readers “shake the book so I can bounce,” which results in wild ricocheting; in subsequent scenes, children are told to flip and tilt the book, and to tap Blip himself. “OUCH! Not that hard,” he protests, after his body is flattened with a “SPLAT!” Yoon is aiming for the same audience as Hervé Tullet’s Press Here and subsequent interactive titles of its kind. But while Blip’s pratfalls and overreactions should prompt some laughs, Blip’s generic appearance and one-note personality keep him in the realm of digital avatar, rather than a character to invest in, and the interactive payoffs, including the “surprise” at the end of the game, fall flat. Ages 4–8. Agent: Jamie Weiss Chilton, Andrea Brown Literary Agency. (Oct.)
Booklist
“Like the work of Hervé Tullet (Press Here, 2011; Mix it Up!, 2014), this succeeds in turning a book into a plaything.”
School Library Journal
09/01/2014
PreS-Gr 2—Blip has a seemingly simple goal: get to the top of a row of blocks before time runs out. The red dot with black legs and ping-pong ball eyes needs the help of readers to accomplish this task, and the illustrations showing the challenge give the book a definite gaming feel. "Could you shake the book/so I can bounce? Go ahead. Shake!" The result is a story that offers well-paced play, with smart page turns that maximize the interactive impact for children. The minimalist illustrations also make it easy for young readers to focus on Blip and his amusing attempts to reach his goal. This picture book joins the ranks of Hervé Tullet's Press Here (Chronicle, 2011) and Christie Matheson's Tap the Magic Tree (Greenwillow, 2013) as a fun, interactive read-aloud that's perfect for storytime.—Amy Koester, St. Charles City-County Library District, Wentzville, MO
Kirkus Reviews
2014-08-27
Blip is a round red creature who's out to win a game. He tells readers he needs to reach a numbered bar (it looks like a horizontal row of five Tetris blocks) to win. He is very willing to tell readers how they can help him win and "get a surprise." Shake the book so he bounces—but that's too fast. Tilt to the right and then left (the countdown of five numbers is now at four). How about tapping? Or filling up your mouth with air so Blip will blow up like a balloon? The numbers are down to one! But then the game is won, and suddenly sharing the plain white background is a green door, with a purple figure visible through its window. The surprise is a new friend, purple and clearly feminine, gender coded with eyelashes and a yellow bow in her topknot. The graphics are clear, sharp and geometric, pleasing and vivid against white backgrounds. Blip is quite direct about what he wants readers to do, and they may indeed enjoy the shouting, tapping, whispering and shaking. If they do, chances are good they are not familiar with Hervé Tullet's Press Here (2011), which sets the bar extremely high for any book that attempts to mimic the interaction of a tablet or computer game. Blip does not meet it. A pale, pale cousin of Tullet's best-seller. (Picture book. 3-6)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062286840
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/07/2014
Pages:
40
Sales rank:
705,585
Product dimensions:
8.60(w) x 8.60(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Salina Yoon is the author/illustrator of over one hundred novelty books for young children, as well as the popular Penguin picture book series. She lives in San Diego, California, with her family.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews