Target: Rabaul: The Allied Siege of Japan's Most Infamous Stronghold, March 1943 - August 1945

Target: Rabaul: The Allied Siege of Japan's Most Infamous Stronghold, March 1943 - August 1945

by Bruce Gamble

Hardcover(First Edition, First)

$28.80 $32.00 Save 10% Current price is $28.8, Original price is $32. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18


As the final book in Bruce Gamble's esteemed trilogy on the War in the Pacific, Target: Rabaul picks up where Fortress Rabaul, the second installment, leaves off—and sets the stage for the major Allied aerial engagements of 1943-1945, which would result in the defeat of Japan.

March 1943, Washington, D.C.: Major General George Kenney, commander of the 5th Air Force, begins to formulate plans for Cartwheel—a 2-year campaign to neutralize Rabaul, Japan's most notorious stronghold, with the use of unescorted daylight bombing raids against the base and the heavily-defended satellite installations nearby. The undertaking would prove to be anything but straightforward, and the story of Rabaul's destruction remains one of the most gripping of World War II's Pacific Theater. In Target: Rabaul, award-winning military historian Bruce Gamble expertly narrates the Allied air raids against the stronghold: the premature celebrations by George Kenney and Gen. Douglas MacArthur; the bequeathing of authority to Adm. William F. "Bull" Halsey; the unprecedented number of near-constant air battles that immediately followed; the Japanese retreat to Truk Lagoon in 1944; and their ultimate surrender to Allied forces in August 1945. This amazing story, one that profiles the bravery and resolve of the Allies in the horrific Pacific battleground, is the turbulent conclusion to an acclaimed trilogy from one of today's most talented nonfiction military authors.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780760344071
Publisher: Zenith Press
Publication date: 11/15/2013
Series: Rabaul Trilogy , #3
Edition description: First Edition, First
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 334,584
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 8.80(h) x 1.70(d)

About the Author

Bruce Gamble is a retired naval flight officer and a former historian with the Naval Aviation Museum Foundation. He is the author of several critically acclaimed books about the Pacific War: Swashbucklers and Black Sheep (2012), an illustrated combat history of Marine Fighting Squadron 214 in the Pacific; Black Sheep One, the definitive biography of Greg "Pappy" Boyington; Invasion Rabaul, the first book of the Rabaul trilogy; and Fortress Rabaul, the second book of the Rabaul trilogy. Bruce lives near Panama City, Florida. For more, visit

Table of Contents



1 A Pirate Goes to Washington 
2 Steppingstones: The Elkton Plan 
3 New Guinea Graveyard 
4 The Heart of Darkness 
5 Lethal Moonlight 
6 Zeamer and Sarnoski 
7 The Big Feud 
8 Wewak 
9 The Hornet’s Nest 
10 Primary Colors 
11 The Buccaneers Attack 
12 Stormy Weather 
13 Bloody Tuesday 
14 Redemption for the Pond Lily 
15 Carrier Raid Redux 
16 Ferdinand the Bull 
17 The Twisted Code 
18 Transition 
19 The Ace Race 
20 Feeding Frenzy 
21 Fortress Rubble 
22 Island of Despair 
23 Glory 

Appendix A: The Prisoners of Rabaul 

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews