Telemann: Sonate à Cinque & Quattro

Telemann: Sonate à Cinque & Quattro

by Rebel


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Telemann: Sonate à Cinque & Quattro

Baroque chamber performers face the challenge of picking a program that makes sense from among the enormous body of small-ensemble music by Georg Philipp Telemann, and the multinational historical-instrument ensemble Rebel (pronounced with the emphasis on the second syllable) surmounts this challenge. Telemann, like other composers of the first half of the 18th century, wrote lots of trio sonatas, but he also pursued the richer sonata à quattro and sonata à cinque. These are, in the main, flashier and more experimental pieces than the trio sonatas, and Rebel captures their daring qualities. Most of the movements are Italianate, but annotator John Moran (his notes are in English only) rightly points to the influence of Polish folk fiddling on Telemann's music here. Consider the "Sonata Discortato à 4 in A major, TWV 43:A7" (tracks 5-8). "Discortato" means "untuned," and Telemann is thought to have derived the scordatura tuning here from Polish music he heard. The final movement is not a Polish dance but a French one, a bourrée, and it is miles away from Bach's treatments of this form; with its drones and plain melodic figures it sounds almost like a reproduction of an actual folk dance. This rustic style (explored in more detail on another Rebel disc devoted specifically to Telemann's Polish side) is balanced by flamboyant Italian sonata movements with pairs of violins and violas sounding off against each other in many combinations. It's a great deal of fun. Rebel here records in the U.S., in a church in Stamford, CT, that brings disagreeably live results, but this remains a colorful program that the Telemann aficionado will enjoy.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2009
Label: Dorian Recordings
UPC: 0053479091222
catalogNumber: 90912
Rank: 275916


  1. Sextet (Sonata), for 2 violins, 2 viols, cello & continuo in B flat major, TWV 44:34
  2. Sextet (Sonata), for 2 violins, 2 viols, cello & continuo in G minor, TWV 44:33
  3. Sonata for flute, 2 violas da gamba & continuo in G major, TWV 43:G12
  4. Quintet (Sonata), for 2 violins, 2 viols & continuo in E minor, TWV 44:5
  5. Quartet for flute, oboe, violin & continuo in A minor, TWV 43:a3
  6. Sextet (Sonata), for 2 violins, alto viol, tenor viol, cello & continuo in F minor, TWV 44:32
  7. Sonata for flute, 2 scordatura violins & continuo in A major, TWV 43:a7
  8. Quintet (Sonata), for 2 violins, 2 viols & continuo in F major, TWV 44:11

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rebel   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews