Telluride Bluegrass Festival: 30 Years

Telluride Bluegrass Festival: 30 Years


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Telluride Bluegrass Festival: 30 Years

A fine introduction to the esteemed bluegrass festival, this collection of live performances culled from Telluride's 30th anniversary shindig presents the genre as alive, well, and many-hued. Nickel Creek can be counted on for a sideways approach, which they flaunt on a skewed interpretation of George Harrison's "Taxman," benefiting from Chris Thile's astringent, jazzy vocal and Sara Watkins's mountain-tinged harmonies. Keller Williams needs only human beatboxes to help him elevate his jittery, ironic broadside "Celebrate Your Youth," into rarified percussive air. The String Cheese Incident (with Martin Sexton on vocals) offer more than a touch of funk and only the slightest bluegrass tint on a propulsive take on Stevie Wonder's "I Wish." Explaining that she wrote "Not Pretty Enough" as a message to radio stations that play Britney Spears instead of her, Kasey Chambers sears the soundscape with sarcasm in an emotionally charged, pop-country arrangement. Upholding tradition while giving it a contemporary goosing are the Yonder Mountain String Band, the Tim O'Brien Band (with Béla Fleck), Sam Bush & Friends (featuring Fleck, Jerry Douglas, and Bryan Sutton), and Tim O'Brien's Hot Rize. The Waifs add some country girl-group sensibility to the bill with a shambling, album-closing homage to the old homestead, the winsome "When I Die." Featuring New Grass Revival alum John Cowan and, on guitar, one Mary-Chapin Carpenter, the Boomchicks offers a magnificent, gut-wrenching rendition of "Unchained Melody" that finds Cowan investing the Righteous Brothers' hit with fervent commitment and emotion on a par with Bobby Hatfield's own rendition. Thirty more years, please.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2005
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661324220
catalogNumber: 613242

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alison Brown   Banjo
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
Sam Bush   Mandolin,Vocals
Pete Wernick   Banjo
John McEuen   Mandolin
John Burr   Keyboards
Bob Carpenter   Keyboards,Vocals
Mary Chapin Carpenter   Guitar
Jeff Claus   Ukulele,Vocals
John Cowan   Vocals
John Doyle   Guitar,Vocals
June Drucker   Bass
Jimmie Fadden   Harmonica,Drums
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Nick Forster   Bass,Vocals
Judy Hyman   Fiddle
Jimmy Ibbotson   Guitar,Vocals
Kenny Malone   Percussion
Takaaki Masuko   Percussion
Sally Van Meter   Dobro
Tim O'Brien   Bouzouki,Mandolin,Vocals
Dirk Powell   Bass
Mark Schatz   Bass
Christian Teele   Drums
Sally Truitt   Bass
Andrea Zonn   Fiddle
David Johnson   Banjo
Michael Travis   Drums
Martin Sexton   Vocals
Chris Thile   Mandolin,Vocals
Gabe Witcher   Guitar
Bryan Sutton   Guitar
David MacDonald   Drums
Bill Chambers   Guitar
Kasey Chambers   Guitar,Vocals
Michael Kang   Mandolin,Vocals
Keith Moseley   Bass,Vocals
Kyle Hollingsworth   Keyboards
Jeff Austin   Mandolin,Vocals
Sara Watkins   Fiddle,Vocals
Sean Watkins   Guitar,Vocals
BJ Barker   Drums
Allison Miller   Percussion
Josh Cunningham   Guitar
Vikki Simpson   Harmonica,Vocals
Donna Simpson   Vocals
Ben Franz   Bass
Adam Aijala   Guitar,Vocals
Glen Hannah   Guitar,Vocals
Jeff McCormack   Bass
Casey Driessen   Fiddle
Ben Kaufmann   Bass,Vocals
Rick Hansen   Accordion
Jeff Hannah   Guitar,Vocals
Kocky Eyed Fox   Banjo
Muhlon   Mandolin,Vocals
Pee Paw   Fiddle,Vocals
Shiner   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Wendy Waldman   Composer
Kevin Clock   Engineer
Kooster McAllister   Engineer
Alex North   Composer
Tim O'Brien   Composer
Jim Photoglo   Composer
Darrell Scott   Composer
James Tuttle   Engineer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Steve Szymanski   Producer,Executive Producer
Kasey Chambers   Composer
Keller Williams   Composer
Dave Glasser   Engineer
Josh Cunningham   Composer
Allen Baca   Engineer
Craig Ferguson   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews