by Mike Dennis

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now



"Dennis' staccato prose keeps the pages turning." -- Jonathan Woods, author of BAD JUJU & Other Tales Of Mayhem And Madness

Jack Barnett has had it with the private eye business. They took his license away in LA, and fearing criminal prosecution, he split town in the middle of the night for Las Vegas, where anyone can become anonymous.

He swears off the business, but his money runs low and when a man offers him $5000 to find his missing daughter, he agrees. He soon wishes he hadn't when the haunting memory of a woman from his past gets in the way.

TEMPTATION TOWN is a hardboiled novelette, the first of the Jack Barnett series from Mike Dennis. Set in the steaming underbelly of Las Vegas, these tales of a reluctant ex-private investigator drag the reader down the darkest streets of Sin City, USA.

The book also comes with an exclusive preview of the second Jack Barnett installment, a novelette called HARD CASH. The third entry, a full novel called THE DOWNTOWN DEAL, is currently available.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148539476
Publisher: Mike Dennis
Publication date: 07/10/2013
Series: Jack Barnett / Las Vegas Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 86
File size: 460 KB

About the Author

After thirty years as a professional musician (piano), Mike Dennis left Key West and moved to Las Vegas to become a professional poker player. He turned to writing when his first novel, The Take, was picked up by a publisher in 2009.

In his writing, he has created the Key West Nocturnes Series, a set of standalone noir novels. These books will lift the veil on Key West and reveal it as a true noir city, on a par with Los Angeles, New Orleans, or Miami. There are currently three novels in this series.

Mike has also created the Jack Barnett / Las Vegas series, hardboiled tales centering around a reluctant ex-private investigator living in Sin City, USA. The series consists of two novelettes and a full novel.

Max Allan Collins, author of ROAD TO PERDITION and over seventy other novels, has said, "Mike Dennis is the modern master of noir."

In late 2010, Mike moved back to Key West, where he enjoys year-round island living with his wife Yleana, whom he married on a warm December night in 2012 on the rooftop of an apartment building in Havana, Cuba.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews