Ten: How the Commandments Can Change Your Life

Ten: How the Commandments Can Change Your Life

by Mary Elizabeth Sperry

Paperback(New Edition)



The words “Ten Commandments” conjure memories of the booming, majestic voice of God and ancient laws engraved on stone tablets held by Moses on Mount Sinai. What can these commandments possibly say to us in a digital world where tablets are items we use to surf the Web? How can the Ten Commandments apply to us in a culture where self-help is practically a religion? The Ten Commandments, writes Mary Elizabeth Sperry, remain important because they teach us habits that we need to develop to live life in right relationship with God, self, others, and things: creating priorities, seeking intimacy, spending time, giving respect, recognizing dignity, maintaining integrity, living gratitude, upholding honesty, promising fidelity, and bestowing generosity. When our relationships are healthy and ordered appropriately, our lives are in balance. We know a joy that goes beyond momentary, fleeting pleasure. We are surrounded by love. We live our call to holiness.

The audio edition of this book can be downloaded via Audible.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781616364083
Publisher: Franciscan Media
Publication date: 09/04/2012
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 115
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

MARY ELIZABETH SPERRY has worked for the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops since 1994, in the Secretariat for the Liturgy, USCCB Publishing, and the Department of Communications. She holds a master’s degree in liturgical studies from the Catholic University of America and a master’s degree in political science from UCLA. Her articles have appeared in Liguorian, Emmanuel, Today’s Parish Minister, and other publications. She has been interviewed about the Bible on National Public Radio, CBS Radio, NBC News, the Drew Mariani Show, and Seize the Day. She lives in Silver Spring, Maryland.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments xiii

Foreword xv

Introduction: Habits for Right Relationships xvii

Chapter 1 The First Commandment: Creating Priority 1

Chapter 2 The Second Commandment: Seeking Intimacy 13

Chapter 3 The Third Commandment: Spending Time 23

Chapter 4 The Fourth Commandment: Giving Respect 33

Chapter 5 The Fifth Commandment: Recognizing Dignity 45

Chapter 6 The Sixth Commandment: Maintaining Integrity 57

Chapter 7 The Seventh Commandment: Living Gratitude 67

Chapter 8 The Eighth Commandment: Upholding Honesty 79

Chapter 9 The Ninth Commandment: Promising Fidelity 89

Chapter 10 The Tenth Commandment: Bestowing Generosity 99

Conclusion: What's Next? 109

Customer Reviews