Terry Linen

Terry Linen

by Terry Linen


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Terry Linen

Terry Linen seems to be positioning himself at the head of the soft reggae pack with this release, which is essentially an update of the lovers rock genre, heavily tinged with American R&B. It helps that there are some standout songs here, most particularly the opener, "Your Love Is My Love," with its catchy chorus, and a version of R. Kelly's "Storm Is Over." If the rest of the songs had lived up to these two -- and notably "Your Love Is My Love" makes a reappearance in a Spanish mix to catch that crossover audience -- this would have been a cracker of a record. Unfortunately, they don't, and while producer Anthony Cameron can pen a decent tune, he doesn't have an ear for the outstanding, sometimes delving into maudlin sentimentality, as on "Thank You Mama." Linen himself has a pleasant enough voice, which is more crooner than soulful, but he works hard to put his lyrics across (especially on the soul standard "Where Do Broken Hearts Go"), and the arrangements are uncluttered, if never inspired. Somehow, it's impossible not to think of Terry Linen as the new Johnny Nash -- although whether that's really a good thing will remain to be seen.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2001
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645162722
catalogNumber: 1627

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Terry Linen   Primary Artist,Vocals
Andrew Campbell   Bass,Drums
Ian Coleman   Guitar
Paul Crosdale   Guitar,Keyboards
Donald Dennis   Bass
Mike Fletcher   Bass,Guitar
Dean Fraser   Horn
Tony Gold   Vocals,Background Vocals
Wycliffe "Steely" Johnson   Bass,Violin,Drums,Keyboards
Paul Kastick   Drums
Robert Lyn   Keyboards
Melbourne Miller   Percussion,Drums
Dwight Pinkney   Guitar,Vocals
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar
Handel Tucker   Keyboards
Christopher Birch   Keyboards
Danny Brownie   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Brown Sugar   Track Performer
Rohan Dwyer   Bass,Drums,Keyboards
Benjy Myaz   Bass,Keyboards
Nick Tucker   Background Vocals
Rudy Valentino   spanish guitar
Chinna Smith   Guitar
Brian Gold   Vocals,Background Vocals
Michael "Mike Dee" Johnson   Guitar
Paul "Limey" Murray   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Anthony Cameron   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Junior Edwards   Engineer
Frank Wildhorn   Composer
Christopher Chin   Executive Producer
Rohan Dwyer   Engineer
Joel Chin   Executive Producer
Ronald Davidson   Art Direction
Jason Sterling   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews