Texas Plates

Texas Plates

by Vince BellVince Bell


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


On Texas Plates, Vince Bell wraps his songs in rich textures and signs of growing optimism. Few would argue Bell's right to the collection of dark, sparse songs he wrote for 1994's Phoenix. After all, anyone who's been catapulted through a car window, suffered brutal head injuries, and been in a month-long coma has full permission to write from places of pain and doubt. Texas Plates, on the other hand, is full of life and great expectation. Bell's voice has grown stronger, exhibiting new shadings and emotion, and his writing is bolder. Particularly mesmerizing are "Place to Call Our Own," "100 Miles From Mexico," and "Have Not, Will Travel," which is easily the centerpiece of this wonderful, sometimes ethereal album. Bell doesn't like to make noise about his accident and long recovery, but it's to be hoped that he'll have the grace to allow the listener to be vastly impressed. Meanwhile, Texas Plates stands as a fine album, and hopefully, as Bell promises, "The Best Is Yet to Come."

Product Details

Release Date: 04/13/1999
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0075992472524
catalogNumber: 24725
Rank: 204891

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vince Bell   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Patrick Buchanon   Guitar,Sitar
Maura O'Connell   Vocals
Perkins   Banjo,Dobro,Pedal Steel Guitar,Kona Guitar
Aly Sujo   Violin
Chris Carmichael   Strings
Ross Rice   Organ,Bass,Piano,Harmonium,Melodica,Moog Synthesizer,Vibes,Omnichord,Wurlitzer,Vox Organ
Robin Eaton   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Jew's Harp,Sitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Kami Lyle   Vocals
Pat Bergeson   Harmonica
Mickey Grimm   Percussion,Drums
David Jacques   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Elijah Shaw   E-bow

Technical Credits

Jason Lehning   Engineer
Vince Bell   Artwork
Robin Eaton   Producer
Mickey Grimm   Contributor
Elijah Shaw   Engineer

Customer Reviews