Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Texas Troubadour [Box Set]

Texas Troubadour [Box Set]

by Ernest Tubb
The Texas Troubadour is an extremely competitively priced four-CD set covering the highlights of the first 16 years of Ernest Tubb's career, from "The Last Thoughts on Jimmie Rodgers" in 1936 up through his September 1952 holiday recording "Merry Texas Christmas You All!" -- it's no substitute for Bear Family Records'


The Texas Troubadour is an extremely competitively priced four-CD set covering the highlights of the first 16 years of Ernest Tubb's career, from "The Last Thoughts on Jimmie Rodgers" in 1936 up through his September 1952 holiday recording "Merry Texas Christmas You All!" -- it's no substitute for Bear Family Records' Walking the Floor Over You or Let's Say Goodbye Like We Said Hello, which cover his complete output in chronological order from this period, but if you can't afford Bear Family's releases and don't mind the fact that nobody involved with the recordings, including the artist or his family, is getting paid, then this is an alternative. The sides are all cleanly mastered, at a very healthy volume level, and are assembled to showcase different aspects of his talent and history -- disc one ("Walking the Floor Over You") and disc two ("Slippin' Around: The Hits, Vol. 2") get the chart history out of the way in a unified manner, covering 1941 through 1949 and 1949 through 1952, respectively, from "Walking the Floor Over You" through "Too Old to Cut the Mustard." Disc three ("Blue Eyed Elaine: Tubb the Songwriter") is the jewel of this box, pulling together all of Tubb's original sides from the same period -- taken on its own, that disc is a five-star compilation, worth the cost of the set by itself, with some of Tubb's best non-hit performances, his most alluring vocals, and a downright soulful, spellbinding undertone throughout; it's such a good idea that MCA should have thought of it. Finally, disc four ("Time After Time: Writers Galore") ties up the loose ends, covering Tubb's best non-charting sides by other songwriters, filling in the holes between the hits and his own songs. The other major component is a highly detailed 48-page booklet containing an essay covering Tubb's whole career (with an understandable emphasis on the '30s, '40s, and early '50s) and a full sessionography on the songs.

Product Details

Release Date:
Proper Box Uk


Disc 1

  1. Walking the Floor Over You
  2. Try Me One More Time
  3. Soldier's Last Letter
  4. Yesterday's Tears
  5. Keep My Mem'ry in Your Heart
  6. Tomorrow Never Comes
  7. Careless Darlin'
  8. It's Been So Long, Darling
  9. Rainbow at Midnight
  10. Filipino Baby
  11. Drivin' Nails in My Coffin
  12. Don't Look Now (But Your Broken Heart Is Showing)
  13. So Round, So Firm, So Fully Packed
  14. I'll Step Aside
  15. Seaman's Blues
  16. You Nearly Lose Your Mind
  17. Forever Is Ending Today
  18. That Wild and Wicked Look in Your Eye
  19. Have You Ever Been Lonely (Have You Ever Been Blue)
  20. Let's Say Goodbye Like We Said Hello
  21. Till the End of the World
  22. I'm Bitin' My Fingernails and Thinking of You
  23. Don't Rob Another Man's Castle
  24. Daddy, When Is Mommy Coming Home
  25. Mean Mama Blues

Disc 2

  1. Slipping Around
  2. My Tennessee Baby
  3. My Filipino Rose
  4. Warm Red Wine
  5. Blue Christmas
  6. White Christmas
  7. Tennessee Border, No. 2
  8. Letters Have No Arms
  9. Don't Be Ashamed of Your Age
  10. I'll Take a Back Seat for You
  11. I Love You Because
  12. Unfaithful One
  13. Throw Your Love My Way
  14. Give Me a Little Old Fashioned Love
  15. Hillbilly Fever, No. 2
  16. Remember Me (I'm the One Who Loves You)
  17. Goodnight Irene
  18. Don't Stay Too Long
  19. Hey la La
  20. Driftwood on the River
  21. The Strange Little Girl
  22. Missing in Action
  23. Somebody's Stolen My Honey
  24. Fortunes in Memories
  25. Too Old to Cut the Mustard

Disc 3

  1. Blue Eyed Elaine
  2. I'll Get Along Somehow
  3. Swell San Angelo
  4. I'll Never Cry Over You
  5. My Baby and My Wife
  6. Please Remember Me
  7. Our Baby's Book
  8. First Year Blues
  9. Wasting My Life Away
  10. When the World Has Turned You Down
  11. I'll Always Be Glad to Take You Back
  12. I Ain't Goin' Honky Tonkin' Anymore
  13. I've Really Learned a Lot
  14. I'm Wondering How
  15. I Know What It Means to Be Lonely
  16. Are You Waiting Just for Me
  17. Answer to Walking the Floor Over You
  18. There's a Little Bit of Everything in Texas
  19. Should I Come Back Home to You
  20. You'll Want Me Back (But I Won't Care)
  21. There's Gonna Be Some Changes Made Around Here
  22. I'm Free at Last
  23. Wondering If You're Wondering Too
  24. There's Nothing on My Mind
  25. Don't Brush Them on Me

Disc 4

  1. The Last Thoughts of Jimmie Rodgers
  2. I'm Missing You
  3. Time After Time
  4. Fort Worth Jail
  5. You Were Only Teasing Me
  6. A Lonely Heart Knows
  7. You Hit the Nail Right on the Head
  8. Headin' Down the Wrong Highway
  9. Waiting for a Train
  10. When I Take My Vacation in Heaven
  11. Stand by Me
  12. The Old Rugged Cross
  13. What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  14. The Wonderful City
  15. Farther Along
  16. Texas vs. Kentucky
  17. G-I-R-L Spells Trouble
  18. I'm Free from the Chain Gang Now
  19. The Lovebug Itch
  20. Kentucky Waltz
  21. I'm With a Crowd But So Alone
  22. My Mother Must Have Been a Girl Like You
  23. Somebody Loves You
  24. Don't Trifle on Your Sweetheart
  25. Merry Texas Christmas You All!

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ernest Tubb   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Red Foley   Vocals
Hank Garland   Guitar
Andrews Sisters   Track Performer
Maxene Andrews   Vocals
Don Helms   Steel Guitar
Grady Martin   Guitar
Speedy West   Steel Guitar
Patty Andrews   Vocals
Minnie Pearl   Vocals
Anita Kerr Singers   Vocals
Owen Bradley   Organ
Billy Byrd   Guitar
Irving Cottler   Drums
Jack Drake   Bass
Dickie Harris   Steel Guitar
Ernie Newton   Bass
Farris Coursey   Drums
Dale Potter   Fiddle
Jack Shook   Rhythm Guitar
Eddie Kirk   Rhythm Guitar
LaVerne Andrews   Vocals
Danny Dill   Rhythm Guitar
Zeke Turner   Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Wesley Tuttle   Bass
Hal Smith   Fiddle
Alcyone Beasley   Vocals
Mack Mcgarr   Mandolin
Eddie Tudor   Guitar
Evelyn Wilson   Vocals
Johnny Sapp   Fiddle
Jimmie Short   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Rusty Gabbard   Rhythm Guitar
Bill Drake   Rhythm Guitar
Ray "Kemo" Head   Steel Guitar
Jerry Byrd & the String Dusters   Steel Guitar
Melvin Leon Short   Rhythm Guitar
Don Davis   Steel Guitar
Billy Robinson   Steel Guitar
Sunshine Trio   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Roy Acuff   Contributor
Justin Tubb   Contributor
Adam Komorowski   Liner Notes,Copy Editing
Carrie Rodgers   Contributor
Tommy "Butterball" Paige   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews