That Thing We Call a Heart

That Thing We Call a Heart

by Sheba Karim

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Overview

This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan. A Kirkus Best Book of 2017!

Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying.

In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place—her family, and her father’s beloved Urdu poetry.

That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love—in all its forms.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062445704
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/09/2017
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 645,878
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Sheba Karim is the author of Mariam Sharma Hits the RoadThat Thing We Call a Heart, and Skunk Girl. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and NYU School of Law and currently lives in Nashville. You can visit her online at www.shebakarim.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

That Thing We Call a Heart 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This a really lovely contemporary with insightful exploration of family, friendship, coming of age, first love, and Urdu poetry. I loved Shabnam's relationship with her parents, her friendship with Farah (who is such a great secondary character), and the graceful prose. It was so great to see such varied and fully realized portrayals of such very different Muslim women all in the same book. Shabnam is a great character, and she felt quintessentially teen and one hundred percent real to me--even though I could see what was coming, it was absolutely believable to me when she could not, and her reactions felt so completely heartfelt. This is a great book.