'That's What They Want' Jook Joint Blues: Good Time Rhythm & Blues 1943-1956

'That's What They Want' Jook Joint Blues: Good Time Rhythm & Blues 1943-1956


$26.35 $28.99 Save 9% Current price is $26.35, Original price is $28.99. You Save 9%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/28/2007
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065779627
catalogNumber: 7796
Rank: 126355


Disc 1

  1. Wine, Women, Whiskey
  2. Rock Me Mama
  3. Little Lean Woman
  4. Hydramatic Woman
  5. Lucy Mae Blues
  6. Goin' to New Orleans
  7. Another Fool Like Me
  8. Little Milton's Boogie
  9. Scott's Boogie
  10. She's Gone
  11. Down at the Depot
  12. Calling All Cows
  13. Courtin' in a Cadillac
  14. Walkin' and Cryin' Blues
  15. Ride Hooker Ride
  16. Don't Let Your Daddy Slow Walk You Down
  17. Cool Down Mama
  18. Country Boy
  19. Lillie Mae Boogie
  20. Gotta Get Together
  21. When I Come in This House Woman
  22. I'm Gonna Leave You Baby
  23. Evil and Hanky
  24. Bad Luck
  25. Central Avenue Blues
  26. On My Way
  27. Highway 8o Blues
  28. Mama Does the Boogie

Disc 2

  1. She Fool Me
  2. Chicken Hearted Woman
  3. That's What They Want
  4. Sneaky Groundhog
  5. Blinds Blues
  6. Sugar Mama
  7. One Room Country Shack
  8. You Are Doing Me Wrong
  9. I Can't Live Happy
  10. Mean Old Train
  11. Jackson Juke
  12. Jealous Man
  13. Winehead SWNG
  14. Weekend Blues
  15. Leave My Money Alone
  16. Pebble in My Shoe
  17. Lonely Blues
  18. No. 4 Boogie
  19. Someday You'll Understand
  20. Alley Corn
  21. I Got Them Blues
  22. L/J. Boogie
  23. She's So Good to Me
  24. New Orleans Bound
  25. West Kinney Street Blues
  26. I'm Him
  27. Neglected Woman
  28. Too Much Competition

Disc 3

  1. A Fool No More
  2. Johnny Mae
  3. Got My Call Card
  4. Love My Baby
  5. Jump the Boogie
  6. One Thing My Baby Likes
  7. A Dream
  8. Happy Go Lucky
  9. Bugger Bugger Boy
  10. Sweet Angel
  11. You Don't Love Me No More
  12. My Woman Knows the Score
  13. Goin' Home to Mother
  14. Santa Fe Blues
  15. Tiger Man
  16. Alabama Boogie
  17. Wolf Call Boogie
  18. Congo Mombo
  19. Big Time Woman
  20. Paper Wooden Daddy
  21. Bloodstains on the Wall
  22. Rub a Little Boogie
  23. Schoolboy
  24. Ethel Mae
  25. Knocking the Boogie
  26. Mistreated Baby Blues
  27. The $64 Question
  28. If I Lose You Woman

Disc 4

  1. Lester's Stomp
  2. Dark Muddy Bottom
  3. Lost Child
  4. 1958 Blues
  5. Now Listen Baby
  6. Lost Without Love
  7. Alla Blues
  8. She's Mine All Mine
  9. T.N.T. Woman
  10. Lightnin' Blues
  11. K.C. Boogie
  12. Baby Blues
  13. She's Taking All My Money
  14. Let Me Be Your Handy Man
  15. You Better Change
  16. Strange Letter Blues
  17. Things Ain't Right
  18. Wine Head Baby
  19. Don't Take It out on Me
  20. Deep South Guitar Blues
  21. Packin' Up My Blues
  22. Blow It Down
  23. Good Road Blues
  24. Katherine Blues
  25. On the Hook
  26. I Can't Be Successful
  27. Philippine Blues
  28. Harpin' on It

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Champion Jack Dupree   Piano
Slim Harpo   Harmonica
Johnny Heartsman   Guitar
Earl Hooker   Guitar,Vocals
Big Walter Horton   Harmonica
Lightnin' Slim   Guitar
Joe Hill Louis   Guitar,Vocals
Jerry "Boogie" McCain   Harmonica,Vocals
Jimmy Liggins   Guitar
Arthur Neal Gunter   Guitar,Vocals
Lazy Bill Lucas   Piano,Vocals
Mercy Dee Walton   Piano,Vocals
Clifford Gibson   Guitar,Vocals
Curley Weaver   Guitar
Henry Clement   Harmonica
Mose Vinson   Piano
Robert Fox   Drums
Kenneth Banks   Bass
Ted Brinson   Bass
Ed Brooks   Piano
Skippy Brooks   Piano
Brownie McGhee   Guitar
Allen Bunn   Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Copeland   Guitar
Frank Edwards   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Wilbert Ellis   Piano
Guitar Gable   Guitar
Cornelius Green   Guitar,Vocals
Pat Hare   Guitar
Frank Patt   Guitar,Vocals
Fats Perrodin   Bass
Gabriel Pandy Perrodin   Guitar
Jesse Sailes   Drums
Guitar Slim   Guitar,Vocals
Frankie Lee Sims   Guitar,Vocals
Houston Stokes   Drums
Jesse Babyface Thomas   Guitar,Vocals
Lafayette Thomas   Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Tucker   Harmonica,Vocals
Albert Williams   Piano
Sonny Boy Williamson   Harmonica,Vocals
Earl Dranes   Guitar,Vocals
Clarence Samuels   Vocals
James Tisdom   Guitar,Vocals
Little Sammy Davis   Harmonica,Vocals
Gus Jenkins   Piano
D.C. Bender   Guitar
Norman Green   Guitar,Vocals
Edward P. Harris   Guitar,Vocals
Otis V. Hicks   Guitar,Vocals
Alexander Lightfoot   Harmonica,Vocals
Chris Collins   Guitar
Eddie White   Vocals
John Thorn   Piano
Coy "Hot Shot" Love   Harmonica,Vocals
Prince   Piano
Tal Miller   Piano
Garner   Guitar,Vocals
J.D. Edwards   Guitar
Jimmie Sheffield   Drums
Jerry Perkins   Vocals
Alvin Smith   Vocals
Louis C. Jackson   Piano
George Lawson   Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Harris   Bass
Clarence "Jockey" Etinne   Bass,Drums
Kid King   Drums
Wright Holmes   Guitar,Vocals
P.T. Hayes   Harmonica
Andrew "Smokey" Hogg   Guitar
Dennis McMillon   Guitar,Vocals
John "Babbacombe" Lee   Guitar,Vocals
Ernest McClay   Guitar,Vocals
Jo Jo Williams   Guitar
Harvey Jr. Hill   Guitar,Vocals
Seth Richard   Guitar,Vocals
Eddie Hope and the Mannish Boys   Drums,Vocals
Red Johnson & His Orchestra   Vocals
John "Snakehips" Johnson   Piano
L.B. Lawson   Vocals
Guitar Red   Guitar
James Bledsoe   Guitar,Vocals
Sammy Drake   Drums
Curtis Grossley   Piano
Sonny Boy Holmes   Guitar,Vocals
Louis Major   Guitar
Charles McLennan   Guitar
Ray "Diggy Do" Meaders   Drums
Roosevelt Parker   Guitar
Wild Bill Phillips   Harmonica,Vocals
Ellas Tillis   Guitar,Vocals
Lillian Tillis   Vocals
Cleveland White   Harmonica,Vocals
Pine Bluff Pete   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Neil Slaven   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews