Andy Griffith Show

Andy Griffith Show

by Richard Michael Kelly
4.0 4


View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Andy Griffith Show by Richard Michael Kelly

The Andy Griffith Show was one of the most successful series in television history. It ranked among the top ten shows in the nation during each of its eight prime-time seasons, from 1960 to 1968. Over forty years later, the 249 episodes still remain some of the most frequently watched syndicated shows on television. In this book, Richard Kelly makes clear to everyone, from the occasional fan to the serious student of television, why The Andy Griffith Show is still so beloved.

In Part One, Kelly quotes from in-depth interviews with most of the principals and traces the development of the show from conception to conclusion.

In Part Two, he discusses both the contributions made to the series by some of its best writers and the show's innovations in television comedy.

Part Three updates the careers of various cast members. It also discusses the phenomenal growth of interest in the show and gives information about organizations that have been formed to celebrate the series.

The final sections include a sample script called "The Sermon for Today" and an unfilmed script called "The Wandering Minstrel." The book ends with capsule summaries of all the episodes in the order in which they originally appeared.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780895870223
Publisher: John F Blair, Publisher
Publication date: 01/01/1986
Pages: 195

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Andy Griffith Show 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Opies mouth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love The Andy Griffith show, this is a must have! Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago