The Annals of Tacitus: Books 5-6

The Annals of Tacitus: Books 5-6


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Annals of Tacitus: Books 5-6 by Tacitus

Books 5 and 6 of Tacitus' Annals cover the last years of the emperor Tiberius. Although most of Book 5 is lost, Book 6 survives complete and offers a vivid narrative of the increasingly tyrannical princeps, secluded on the island of Capri; the book ends with his death and obituary notice, one of the most celebrated passages of classical literature. The volume presents a new text of Books 5 and 6, restoring the division between them which was proposed by Lipsius, as well as a full commentary on the text, covering textual, literary, linguistic and historical matters. An Appendix discusses 'The Tacitean Tiberius'. The volume rounds off the sequence which began with commentary on Books 1 and 2 of Tacitus' Annals by F. R. D. Goodyear (1972, 1981) and was continued by commentary on Book 3 by A. J. Woodman and R. H. Martin (1996).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781107152700
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 12/08/2016
Series: Cambridge Classical Texts and Commentaries Series , #55
Pages: 348
Product dimensions: 5.43(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.94(d)

About the Author

A. J. Woodman is Basil L. Gildersleeve Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia.

Table of Contents

Preface; References and abbreviations; Introduction; Text; Commentary; Appendix: the Tacitean Tiberius; Indexes.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews