The Antaeus Anthology

The Antaeus Anthology

by Daniel Halpern


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Antaeus Anthology by Daniel Halpern

An outstanding collection of the world’s best contemporary poetry selected by the editor of Antaeus magazine
From the powerful poems of Nobel Prize winner Czesław Miłosz to the articulate voice of award-winning American poet Robert Haas, this magnificent collection provides a unique cross section of great modern poetry. All originally published in Antaeus, these works ring out with the familiar voices of long-recognized poets, such as William Carlos Williams; poignant lines from today’s most notable women, such as Louise Glück and Adrienne Rich; and verse from outstanding international poets—Poland’s Zbigniew Herbert, Greece’s prolific Yiannis Ritsos, England’s famous John Fowles. The wide spectrum of poems selected from Antaeus creates a rare, comprehensive portrait of poetry in the twentieth century, and a volume destined to become a classic.
Antaeus has never lost its flair for the adventurous or betrayed the touchstone of the highest standard in new literature.”—Nadine Gordimer

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780553343137
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 11/01/1986
Pages: 640
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Daniel Halpern was born in Syracuse, New York, in 1945 and has lived in Los Angeles, Seattle, New York City, and Tangier, Morocco. The author of seven previous collections of poems, Halpern founded Ecco Press in 1971. He has received many grants and awards, including fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. Halpern divides his time between New York City and Princeton, New Jersey, where he lives with his wife and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews