The Arrows of Time: Orthogonal Book Three

The Arrows of Time: Orthogonal Book Three

by Greg Egan


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Arrows of Time: Orthogonal Book Three by Greg Egan

In an alien universe where space-time plays by different rules than our own, interstellar voyages last longer for the travelers than for those they left behind. After six generations in flight, the inhabitants of the mountain-sized spacecraft the Peerless have used their borrowed time to develop advanced technology that could save their home world from annihilation.

But not every traveler feels the same allegiance to a world they have never seen, and as tensions mount over the risks of turning the ship around and starting the long voyage home, a new complication arises: the prospect of constructing a messaging system that will give the Peerless news of its own future.

While some of the crew welcome the opportunity to be warned of impending dangers — and perhaps even hear reports of the ship's triumphant return — others are convinced that knowing what lies ahead in their own lives will be oppressive, and that the authorities will abuse the system for political gain. Agata longs for a chance to hear a message from the ancestors back on the home world, proving that the sacrifices of the travelers have not been in vain, but her most outspoken rival, Ramiro, fears that the system will undermine every decision the travelers make.

When a vote fails to settle the matter and dissent erupts into violence, Ramiro, Agata and their allies must seek a new way to bring peace to the Peerless — by traveling to a world where time runs in reverse.

The Arrows of Time is the final volume of the Orthogonal trilogy, bringing a powerful and surprising conclusion to the epic story of the Peerless that began with The Clockwork Rocket and The Eternal Flame.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781597804875
Publisher: Night Shade Books
Publication date: 08/05/2014
Series: Orthogonal , #3
Pages: 392
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Greg Egan is a computer programmer, and the author of the acclaimed SF novels Diaspora, Quarantine, Permutation City, and Teranesia. He has won the Hugo Award as well as the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. His short fiction has been published in a variety of places, including Interzone, Asimov’s, and Nature. He lives in Perth, Australia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews