The Art of Fear

The Art of Fear

by Pamela Crane

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A fearless detective. A stolen child. And a killer just getting started.

From USA Today best-selling author Pamela Crane comes a terrifying tale of small-town secrets and murder.

Ari Wilburn’s life ended long ago—the day she watched her little sister die in a tragic accident and did nothing to stop it. Crippled with self-blame and resented by her parents, she stumbles through life … and onto an unexpected clue that casts doubt on whether the death was accidental.

Now a psychological wreck, Ari joins a suicide support group where she meets Tina, a sex-enslaved escapee whose daughter is missing and her long-lost father dead. Suicide, police ruled it. But Tina suspects foul play. As a bond develops between the women in their shared loss, they’re dragged into playing a dangerous game with a killer.

A serial killer with a deadly message.

Faced with a murderous wake-up call and two possibly linked deaths, Ari’s investigation puts her next on the killer’s list. But she’s never been one to back down from a fight.

Needing closure, Ari must face her demons and the killer behind them … or lose everything she loves.

“If Dexter and Gone Girl had a love child, this would be it.” – reader review

"Perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza and Melinda Leigh, Pamela Crane introduces a mind-twist that takes everything you love about thrillers, pushes it outside the box, and electrifies you with clever prose and a plot that will terrify you. A must-read thriller…” – Southern Editor Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781940662091
Publisher: Tabella House
Publication date: 02/01/2018
Series: The Little Things That Kill Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 306
Sales rank: 112,556
File size: 489 KB

About the Author

PAMELA CRANE is a professional juggler. Not one who can toss flaming torches in the air, but a juggler of four kids, a writing addiction, a horse rescuer, and a book editor by trade. She lives on the edge (ask her Arabian horse about that—he’ll tell you all about their wild adventures while trying to train him) and she writes on the edge...where her sanity resides. Her USA Today best-selling Mental Mommy books unravel flawed women—some she knows, some she creates—and they aren’t always pretty. In fact, her characters are rarely pretty, which makes them interesting…and perfect for doing crazy things worth writing about. When she’s not cleaning horse stalls or changing diapers, she’s psychoanalyzing others.

Website: www.pamelacrane.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Author.Pamela.Crane/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/author.pamela.crane/

Join her newsletter to get a FREE book and updates about her new releases and deals: http://eepurl.com/bcJIXL

See why Pamela's fans on Goodreads compare her to authors like Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner, and Liane Moriarty.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Art of Fear 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
tarafarah7 More than 1 year ago
If you are into Psychological Thrillers, Pamela Crane is going to be your new favorite author! Hands down, 100%, her writing is top-notch...thoroughly engaging!! I was completely enthralled by her every word and turning pages like my life depended on it. I couldn't put it down! As a result, I now am the proud owner of every book she has written, including the pre-order of the next in this series, set to be released June 2018! I also am a subscriber to her newsletter where I learned that Ms. Crane regularly interacts with her readers and holds drawings and giveaways. So nice! Especially, because she is so busy already...she has a family of six and is a horse rescuer. This woman deserves an award! Not only is she a talented writer, but she also is a caring mother, an animal lover, a positive role-model, and clearly one smart cookie! You will not be disappointed! I am so happy I made the decision to pre-order this book. I now have a new favorite author and a slew of books to dive into! Thank you, Pamela Crane, and keep up the great work! Without hesitation, I rate The Art of Fear (The Little Things that Kill Series Book 1) by Pamela Crane a well-deserved 5/5 stars. Thank you so much for reading my review. I hope it was helpful. :-)
booklover- More than 1 year ago
Ari Wilburn is still feeling like a murderer. Her little sister died by a hit and run driver ...and her parents blamed Ari for her sister's death. This one event has colored her entire life. She starts a suicide support group .. because she herself has tried to kill herself. She is not the only one by the number of people who show up. Telling her story takes everything she has. At this group, Ari meets Tina, a sex-enslaved escapee who suspects foul play in her father’s death. Law enforcement is calling Tina's dad a suicide ... but Tina just doesn't believe it. She's the one who found his body, and she insists that it just didn't look 'right'. Ari wants to help her and she tries, but there are lies upon lies, and secrets that would like to stay hidden in the shadows. And then she comes across something that makes her think her own sister's accident was not an accident. Ari and Tina start investigating on their own .... and they may find much more than they bargained for. This inspiration for this book comes from a true story. The author has done her research and written a dark, disturbing tale of mental illness, sex trafficking, child abuse, death, suicide. Along this journey be prepared for a serial killer, a child molester, and murderers. But it's also a story of two women trying to deal with their childhood horrors. And it is definitely a story of love and friendship. There are surprising twists and turns .. and an ending no one can see coming. Be prepared for a cliff hanger. Many thanks to the author / Booklover Catlady Publicity for the advanced digital copy. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got an early reader copy of this, and I already had to purchase the hardcover because it's that good that I want it to be part of my permanent library. Crane's writing is pristine, powerful, and her characters are achingly relatable. She deals with tough issues--sex trafficking, the foster system--with incredible insight. She's a master storyteller, and this book only demonstrates just how great a twist she can pull off. I guarantee you'll be as shocked as I was.
aschae More than 1 year ago
Another fabulous book from Pamela Crane! The first book in The Little Things The Kill Series and I'll surely be catching up on the rest! Ari has lived with the crippling blame and of her sister's death since childhood and has lived in the shadow of the events since. After meeting Tina at her suicide support group, the two form an unlikely bond and set out to find answers to questions that have gone unanswered for too long. Tragic and suspenseful, yet we're left with hope for these two strong women. This incredible story and interesting characters sucked me in and just wouldn't let me go. Highly recommended!