The Basement Tapes

The Basement Tapes

by Milt Hinton


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Basement Tapes

This posthumously released CD features recordings made by the great bassist Milt Hinton with a number of his friends between 1989 and 1990, all of which are previously unissued. Trumpeter Warren Vache and pianist Janice Friedman are on hand for the first three tracks, including a delightfully brisk "Raincheck," a moving "A Time for Love," and finally "Johnny Come Lately," which features Vache in a sassy mood. "Fascinating Rhythm" is a masterful duet with drummer Kenny Washington, showcasing Hinton's still potent bass-slapping technique. James Williams and Frank Wess join the pair for the old hymn "Blessed Assurance," spotlighting Hinton's smooth arco bass, complemented by Wess' lyrical flute. Although the bassist frequently sang his tribute to his wife, "Mona's Feeling Lonely," this version is a touching instrumental. Guitarist Howard Alden and singer Sylvia Sims (in one of her last recordings) accompany the leader on several songs, with the buoyant "Night and Day" standing out. Although Hinton didn't compose "Old Man Time," this semiautobiographical piece (which was always a hit with jazz party audiences) adds the playful clarinet of Kenny Davern, along with Alden and drummer and Jackie Williams. The warm remembrance by liner note writer Bill Crow salutes a universally loved musician whose considerable achievements during his very long career will be impossible to match, let alone surpass.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2003
Label: Chiaroscuro Records
UPC: 0091454022229
catalogNumber: 222


  1. Raincheck
  2. A Time for Love
  3. Johnny Come Lately
  4. Fascinating Rhythm
  5. Blessed Assurance
  6. Mona's Feeling Lonely
  7. Order in the Court
  8. Wade in the Water
  9. Night and Day
  10. As Long as I Live
  11. Love Me or Leave Me
  12. Old Man Time
  13. Summertime
  14. Travelin' All Alone

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Milt Hinton   Primary Artist,Bass,Vocals
Howard Alden   Guitar
Kenny Davern   Clarinet
Warren Vaché   Trumpet
James Williams   Piano
Sylvia Syms   Vocals
Kenny Washington   Drums
Frank Wess   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Jackie Williams   Drums
Janice Friedman   Piano

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Michael McDonald   Engineer
Kenny Davern   Author
Harold Arlen   Composer
Bill Crow   Liner Notes
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Cliff Friend   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Josiah Gluck   Engineer
Milt Hinton   Composer
J.C. Johnson   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Johnny Mandel   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Jack Reynolds   Composer
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Frank Wess   Composer
Phil Klum   Engineer
David Berger   Producer
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Warren Vaché   Author
Ted Koehler   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Ian Clifford   Cover Design
Phoebe Knapp   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews