The Batman Filmography, 2d ed.

The Batman Filmography, 2d ed.

by Mark S. Reinhart

NOOK Book2 (eBook - 2)

$11.99 $19.99 Save 40% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 40%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


This is a complete reference work to the history of Batman big screen works, from the 1940s serials through the campy 1960s TV show and film, and up through the series of Warner Bros. summer blockbusters that climaxed with Christopher Nolan's 2012 film The Dark Knight Rises. Chapters on each Batman feature include extensive film and production credits, a production history, and a critical analysis of the movie relative to the storied history of the Batman character. The book also examines the Batman-related works and events that took place in the years between the character's film exploits.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476606323
Publisher: McFarland & Company, Incorporated Publishers
Publication date: 07/30/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 328
File size: 11 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Mark S. Reinhart has presented lectures on the subject of Lincoln–related film and television at libraries and museums throughout the U.S. He is a musician in Columbus, Ohio.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix
Introduction 1
 1—The Creation of Batman and His World, 1939–1942 5
 2—Batman (1943) 15
 3—Between the Serials, 1943–1948 32
 4—Batman and Robin (1949) 35
 5—Changing with the Times, 1950–1965 52
 6—Batman (1966) 59
 7—Exile from the Big Screen, 1967–1989 80
 8—Batman (1989) 99
 9—Between Burton’s Batman Films, 1989–1991 121
10—Batman Returns (1992) 123
11—Batman: Mask of the Phantasm (1993) 139
12—Between Burton and Schumacher, 1993–1995 149
13—Batman Forever (1995) 152
14—Between Schumacher’s Batman Films, 1996–1997 172
15—Batman and Robin (1997) 177
16—Iconic Character, Dormant Film Franchise, 1998–2004 193
17—Batman Begins (2005) 208
18—The Dark Knight (2008) 230
19—“Non-Nolan” Batman Works During the Nolan Cinematic Batman Era 257
20—The Dark Knight Rises (2012) 272
21—The Adventure Goes On and On 297
Chapter Notes 301
Bibliography 305
Index 307

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews