The Beach Boys Classics Selected by Brian Wilson

The Beach Boys Classics Selected by Brian Wilson

by The Beach Boys


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Beach Boys Classics Selected by Brian Wilson

It's not the first (and probably not the last) Beach Boys compilation to come down the pike, but The Beach Boys Classics Selected by Brian Wilson bypasses standard-issue best-of status in favor of something much more personal. Ever the consummate craftsman, Wilson has handpicked the set list to emphasize the Boys' gorgeous harmonies and meditative ballads (absent are ubiquitous hits like "Surfin' U.S.A." and "Fun, Fun, Fun"). The reclusive genius offers a peek into his mind with small revelations in the track-by-track notes, such as the fact that "The Warmth of the Sun" was written for President Kennedy on the day of his death and that "Marcella" was cut in the mold of the Rolling Stones. To be sure, Wilson couldn't avoid including some hits, and summery early tracks like "I Get Around" (he notes that it was the band's first No. 1 hit) and "California Girls" ("My favorite Beach Boys record") provide a warm and welcome flashbacks, as do mid- and late-period numbers such as the soaring "Good Vibrations" ("a production achievement") and the soulful "Sail On, Sailor." Wilson caps the journey with a new recording: He may have written "California Feelin' " for the Boys back in the '70s, but he captures his love for his home state with billowy harmonies, a sanguine melody, and an earnest delivery that reasserts his storied place in the sun.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/02/2002
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724354008726
catalogNumber: 40087


  1. Surfer Girl
  2. The Warmth Of The Sun
  3. I Get Around
  4. Don't Worry Baby
  5. In My Room
  6. California Girls
  7. God Only Knows
  8. Caroline, No
  9. Good Vibrations
  10. Wonderful
  11. Heroes And Villains
  12. Surf's Up
  13. Busy Doin' Nothin’
  14. We're Together Again
  15. Time To Get Alone
  16. This Whole World
  17. Marcella
  18. Sail On, Sailor
  19. ’Til I Die
  20. California Feelin’

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews