The Beachside Christmas: A hilarious feel good Christmas romance

The Beachside Christmas: A hilarious feel good Christmas romance

by Karen Clarke

Paperback

$11.69 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.69, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

The Beachside Christmas: A hilarious feel good Christmas romance by Karen Clarke

Snow is falling and there’s romance in the air. Curl up for a cosy Christmas by the fire at Seaview Cottage…

When thirty-year-old Lily Ambrose’s latest relationship ends in disaster, she remembers happy childhood holidays in the seaside town of Shipley and decides it’s the perfect place for a fresh start.

But when Lily arrives, the town’s spirits are as low as her own: the local celebrity due to turn on the Christmas lights has gone on a cruise instead. Keen to prove herself, she calls in a favour and secures gorgeous reality star Ollie.

Lily’s neighbours are initially thrilled, but Ollie is as uncontrollable as he is good-looking. He can’t remember the town’s name, calls the Christmas decorations tacky, and manages to offend everyone. And whilst handsome but stubborn cameraman Craig tries to help, even he can’t stop Ollie’s madcap plans to stage a romance with Lily…

Will Lily be able to keep Ollie under control and bring the Christmas cheer back to Shipley – and find herself a real kiss under the mistletoe?

An addictive, heart-warming and uplifting read about friendship, romance, and Christmas spirit. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Cathy Bramley and Debbie Johnson.

Read what people are saying about Karen Clarke:

Within the first page turn I was laughing out loud… It was a delight to read.’ Rachel’s Random Reads, 5 stars

‘Brilliant! Such a beautiful, heart warming story! Loved every word! So well written. A magical, feel good tale. Loved, loved, loved. Highly recommend it to everyone.’ Renita D’Silva

‘Had me chortling away… really funny… I absolutely loved it.Short Book and Scribe, 5 stars

‘Light-hearted and witty... Kept me glued to the pages.On My Bookshelf, 4 stars

I feared I would short circuit my Kindle with tears from laughing.Books from Dusk til Dawn, 5 stars

Funny, heart-warming and entertaining.Where the Reader Grows, 4 stars

Light, quick moving and engaging.I am Indeed, 4 stars

Very enjoyable… a lovely read infused with warmth, humour and romance.’ Shaz’s Book Blog

Fantastically funny… an entertaining read.’ Jo’s Book Journey

‘A sweet and charming read.’ Pretty Little Book Reviews, 4 stars

I really enjoyed this book… all the characters were lovable.’ Katie’s Book Ends, 5 stars

‘This book was a great read, so easy to dive into and get lost… Highly recommend it… dive in and forget the world around you.’ Trish B’s Blog, 4 stars

Heartfelt and hilarious… Karen Clarke’s writing is an absolute joy to get lost in… This book is truly the perfect book to get lost in for an afternoon.” Clues and Reviews, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786812728
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 09/26/2017
Pages: 340
Sales rank: 220,411
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Beachside Christmas: A hilarious feel good Christmas romance 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
First meeting the people of Shipley in The Beachside Sweet Shop, I couldn’t wait to get back. Now meet Lily, she’s just (on a whim fueled by a relationship loss that spilled over into her work) who has impulse-bought the cottage on Maple Hill that was previously owned by a former model-turned activist who caused no end of strife. Desperate to fit in and become part of the neighborhood, she’s attended the Christmas Decoration and Lighting Committee meeting, and soon finds herself offering up one of her best friend’s famous clients light the tree in a couple of weeks. Enter Ollie, shamed posh reality bad-boy who happens to be full of flash and not much substance, and his cameraman/best friend Craig. With plenty of charm and even more warnings, Lily is worried about impressions, fitting in, Ollie’s happiness so the lighting will go over well, and withstanding some intriguing moments with Craig. From the return of Doris Day, to her mother’s sharing of Lily’s trauma: a ‘separated’ man who went back to his wife, and wife showing up to berate her in front of a classroom full of 5 year olds, to her subsequent firing, and her nebulous desire to write a ‘novel’ Lily has plenty to deal with. But, suspicions over a neighbor’s infidelity, Ollie’s erratic behavior, her own inability to pen anything more than trite garbage and an offer from the local primary school for a position, she’s truly got plenty to sort out. Karen Clarke again brings laughter, real situations and some over the top conflict to the story, as she directs us through Shipley and the characters take over. Finding some peace for Lily in her choices, and her finding roots, happiness and a new start are the goals, but along the way she finds more direction, purpose and some solid friends who accept her and the craziness that came with Ollie, and a sense of peace that comes from having a place in this world. A wonderful story in this series, funny, heartfelt and even a bit outrageous (or maybe not so considering some relations) perfect for the holidays! I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
reneewellwood More than 1 year ago
The Beachside Christmas by Karen Clarke Series: Beachside Bay Book #3 Publisher: Bookouture Thanks to NetGalley and publisher Bookouture for the ebook ARC of The Beachside Christmas by author, Karen Clarke. Lily Ambrose needs a fresh start and she remembers her happy childhood holidays in the seaside town of Shipley. Its the perfect place for the perfect seaside Christmas hideaway. Anxious to make new friends, Lily promises to find a celebrity to turn on the Christmas lights. But when reality star Ollie shows up with his cameraman, Craig, with plans to make a TV show out of his stay, plans quickly go off course. Ollie is gorgeous but rowdy, soon decides that staging a romance with a normal girl, like Lily is exactly what he needs to save his reputation. With new neighbours to impress can Lily bring the Christmas cheer back to Shipley and find herself under a real kiss under the mistletoe? I give this book a rating of 4 stars. I recommend reading it. It was a good book and kept me wanting to find out what happens. I have not read any of the other books in the series, but I found that it was a stand alone book as well. It was a feel good Christmas book with some hilarious moments.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
After reading and enjoying previous books by Karen Clarke in the Beachside series set in Shipley I was delighted to see The Beachside at Christmas. Yes I know this is my second Christmas book already this year and it’s still September but hey there are so many excellent authors and a LOT of them produce festive treats. This one has all you could want from a Christmassy story, love, passion, friendship, festivities and laughter. I was giggling through a lot of this, mainly at the antics or at the expense of Ollie! Lily has moved to the area for a fresh start. It’s always difficult moving into a tight-knit community trying to fit in and be accepted. So she goes in all gung-ho offering to help with the Christmas light display by finding a celebrity to do the judging for the annual competition. The folk in Shipley must love winter the amount of effort they put in to win. Now it would be too much to hope that things with a failing reality star would go smoothly, Ollie has a habit of co*cking things up but he was quite lovable, his cameraman Craig was more subdued but had ‘something’ about him that was endearing. I absolutely loved this, the characters are fabulous, the setting gorgeous and anything that includes sparkly lights has to be admired. I’m like a big kid at Christmas and adore seeing all the colourful illuminations. This is a light-hearted joy to read, although the third in a series it can easily be read alone. If you want something to cheer you up on a cold, dark day then this will surely suffice. Thanks to the author, publisher and netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.