The Beautiful American

The Beautiful American

by Jeanne Mackin

Paperback

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

From Paris in the 1920s to London after the Blitz, two women find that a secret from their past reverberates through years of joy and sorrow....

As recovery from World War II begins, expat American Nora Tours travels from her home in southern France to London in search of her missing sixteen-year-old daughter. There, she unexpectedly meets up with an old acquaintance, famous model-turned-photographer Lee Miller. Neither has emerged from the war unscathed. Nora is racked with the fear that her efforts to survive under the Vichy regime may have cost her daughter’s life. Lee suffers from what she witnessed as a war correspondent photographing the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps.

Nora and Lee knew each other in the heady days of late 1920s Paris, when Nora was giddy with love for her childhood sweetheart, Lee became the celebrated mistress of the artist Man Ray, and Lee’s magnetic beauty drew them all into the glamorous lives of famous artists and their wealthy patrons. But Lee fails to realize that her friendship with Nora is even older, that it goes back to their days as children in Poughkeepsie, New York, when a devastating trauma marked Lee forever. Will Nora’s reunion with Lee give them a chance to forgive past betrayals…and break years of silence to forge a meaningful connection as women who have shared the best and the worst that life can offer?

A novel of freedom and frailty, desire and daring, The Beautiful American portrays the extraordinary relationship between two passionate, unconventional women.

Readers Guide Included

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780451465825
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 06/03/2014
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Jeanne Mackin teaches creative writing at Goddard College in Vermont and has taught or conducted workshops in Pennsylvania, Hawaii and New York.  She lives with her husband, artist Steve Poleskie, in upstate New York. She is also the author of several novels:  The Sweet By and By, Dreams of Empire, The Queen’s War, and The Frenchwoman.

Read an Excerpt

 “Look.” Lee Miller stood and pulled on her gloves. “Can you come to us this weekend? Come meet Roland. I married, you know. Twice, to be precise. Aziz and I married after you left Paris, but it didn’t last. God, Cairo was so boring. But I think this one will last. Come meet the husband, and little Anthony. Yes, I have a child. A boy. The most beautiful little boy in the world. I’m absolutely besotted.”
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "The Beautiful American"
by .
Copyright © 2014 Jeanne Mackin.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for The Beautiful American

"Mackin’s ability to re-create history and to create believable characters and situations makes her new work a transfixing story that is hard to put down. Sure to be loved by fans of Mackin and of the historical novel; very highly recommended."—Library Journal 

“Readers will rank [it] right up there with The Paris Wife…. A brilliant, beautifully written literary masterpiece…”—New York Times bestselling author Sandra Dallas

“Will transport you to expat Paris… and from there take you on a journey through the complexities of a friendship…breathes new life into such luminaries as Man Ray, Picasso, and, of course, the titular character, Lee Miller, while at the same time offering up a wonderfully human and sympathetic protagonist in Nora Tours.”—Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist

“Leaves its essence of love, loss, regret, and hope long after the novel concludes."—Erika Robuck, author of Fallen Beauty

“Achingly beautiful and utterly mesmerizing… Sure to appeal to fans of Paula McLain's The Paris Wife and Erika Robuck's Call Me Zelda, or indeed to anyone with a taste for impeccably researched and beautifully written historical fiction.”— Jennifer Robson, author of Somewhere in France

“An engaging and unforgettable novel. I couldn’t put it down.”—Renee Rosen, author of Dollface

"An exquisitely imagined and beautifully rendered story of the talented, tragic, gorgeous Lee Miller."—Becky E. Conekin, author of Lee Miller in Fashion

“Beautiful…A fascinating account of a little-known woman who was determined to play by her own rules.”—Historical Novel Society

“Lovers of the film A Midnight in Paris will definitely enjoy this.”—Chick Lit Plus

“[An] exquisitely depicted story of love, betrayal, forgiveness.”—Crystal Book Reviews

“An engrossing novel…Compulsively readable.”—BookNAround

Customer Reviews