The Best American Newspaper Narratives, Volume 6

The Best American Newspaper Narratives, Volume 6

by Gayle Reaves (Editor)


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This anthology collects the eleven winners of the 2018 Best American Newspaper Narrative Writing Contest at the Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference, an event hosted by the Frank W. Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism at the University of North Texas.

First place winner: Kale Williams, “The Loneliest Polar Bear” (The Oregonian), relates the tale of Nora, a baby polar bear raised by humans in a zoo after being abandoned by her mother.
Second place: Patricia Callahan, “Doomed by Delay” (Chicago Tribune), reveals the experiences of Illinois families with children diagnosed with Krabbe—a deadly disease that healthcare professionals could have screened for at birth, and ultimately treated, if it weren’t for government bureaucracy.
Third place: Christopher Goffard, “Dirty John” (Los Angeles Times), is an investigative story that explores the dynamics of domestic violence with a nuanced, psychologically complex narrative of family and survival.
Runners-up include John Woodrow Cox, “Twelve Seconds of Gunfire” (The Washington Post); Tom Hallman Jr., “His Heart, Her Hands” (The Oregonian); Jenna Russell, “The Last Refugee” (The Boston Globe); Lisa Gartner and Zachary T. Sampson, “Wrong Way” (Tampa Bay Times); Casey Parks, “About a Boy” (The Oregonian); Jennifer Emily, “Hope for the Rest of Us” (The Dallas Morning News); Kent Babb, “There’s Nowhere to Run” (The Washington Post); and Lane DeGregory, “The House on the Corner” (Tampa Bay Times).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781574417524
Publisher: University of North Texas Press
Publication date: 06/11/2019
Pages: 392
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

GAYLE REAVES was a projects reporter and assistant city editor for The Dallas Morning News, where she was part of the team that won the 1994 Pulitzer Prize in International Reporting and in 1990, with two colleagues, received the George Polk Award.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vii

Recipe for the Future xi

The Loneliest Polar Bear: The Oregonian Kale Williams 1

Doomed by Delay: Chicago Tribune Patricia Callahan 49

Dirty John: Los Angeles Times Christopher Goffard 89

Twelve Seconds of Gunfire: The Washington Post John Woodrow Cox 145

His Heart, Her Hands: The Oregonian Tom Hallman Jr. 161

The Last Refugee: The Boston Globe Jenna Russell 177

Wrong Way: Tampa Bay Times Lisa Gartner Zachary T. Sampson 211

About a Boy: The Oregonian Casey Parks 227

Hope for the Rest of Us: The Dallas Morning News Jennifer Emily 269

There's Nowhere to Run: The Washington Post Kent Babb 293

The House on the Corner: Tampa Bay Times Lane DeGregory 309

Customer Reviews