The Best of Sessions at West 54th

The Best of Sessions at West 54th


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Best of Sessions at West 54th

Looking for spirited live tracks from some of the most dynamic performers of the late 20th century? Well, dig no deeper than The Best of Sessions at West 54th, culled from performances recorded in 1997 and 1998 for PBS's award-winning concert-and-interview TV series. Not surprisingly, songs take center stage here, so you'll hear Sheryl Crow's rousing hit "Everyday Is a Winding Road"; Ben Folds Five's touching ballad "Brick," which gains even more poignancy in this intimate setting; and Sinéad O'Connor's impassioned "The Last Day of Our Acquaintance," which begins plaintively enough before exploding into a dense rock arrangement. A subdued, singer-songwriterly tone pervades many of the tracks (e.g., those from Suzanne Vega and Natalie Merchant), with some exceptions, such as the Mavericks' amped barroom burner "Tonight the Bottle Let Me Down" and the lush ballad "Painted from Memory" by Elvis Costello and Burt Bacharach. From legendary rootsy performers like John Hiatt and Emmylou Harris to punk-inspired folkie Ani DiFranco to the ever-eclectic (and onetime Sessions host) David Byrne (who turns in a funky reworking of the Talking Heads' "I Zimbra"), this disc makes a varied sampler for those in search of ambitious and tasteful pop.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/04/2001
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646370223
catalogNumber: 63702

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Emmylou Harris   Vocals
Mavericks   Track Performer
David Byrne   Guitar,Vocals
Shawn Colvin   Vocals
Elvis Costello   Vocals
John Hiatt   Guitar,Vocals
Lou Reed   Guitar,Vocals
Suzanne Vega   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Burt Bacharach   Piano
Steve Nieve   Keyboards
Lisa Taylor   Vocals
Sheryl Crow   Vocals
Ani DiFranco   Guitar,Vocals
Belinda Whitney-Barratt   Violin
Jim Bogios   Drums
Chris Botti   Trumpet
David Coy   Bass
Dave Crigger   Drums
Caroline Dale   Cello
Paul Deakin   Drums
Davey Faragher   Bass,Background Vocals
Desmond Foster   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Grant Geissman   Guitar
Charlie Giordano   Accordion
Aaron Heick   Clarinet
David Immerglück   Guitar,Mandolin,Background Vocals
Carol Isaacs   Keyboards
Josie James   Vocals
Darryl Johnson   Bass,Vocals
Bruce Kaphan   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,Keyboards
Claire Kenny   Bass
Larry Klein   Bass
Graham Maby   Bass
Raul Malo   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Jerry Dale McFadden   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Natalie Merchant   Vocals
Buddy Miller   Vocals
Sinéad O'Connor   Vocals
Mike Rathke   Guitar
John Reynolds   Drums
Robert Reynolds   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Fernando Saunders   Bass,Background Vocals
Rob Shrock   Keyboards
Steuart Smith   Guitar
Andy Stochansky   Drums
Donna Taylor   Vocals
Jeff Trott   Slide Guitar
Michael Visceglia   Bass
Peter Yanowitz   Drums
Garo Yellin   Cello
Michelle Kinney   Cello
Avril Brown   Violin
Debra Shufelt   Viola
Lorra Baylis   Violin
Mary Whitaker   Violin
Ben Folds   Piano,Vocals
Todd Wolfe   Guitar
Heidi Modr   Violin
Liuh-Wen Ting   Viola
Nick Kane   Electric Guitar
Jason Mercer   Bass
Rev. Brady Blade   Drums
Erik Della Penna   Acoustic Guitar
Helen Kim   Violin
Laura Bontrager   Celli
Tom McGinley   Saxophone
Robert Sledge   Bass,Vocals
Xin Zhao   Violin
Rea Mochiach   Drums,Sampling
Andrea Schultz   Violin
Darren Jessee   Drums,Vocals
Shinwon Kim   Violin
Naomi Katz   Violin
Lisa Matricardi   Violin
Ben Folds Five   Track Performer
Robin Zeh   Violin
Kenna Campbell   Keyboards
Richard Foust   Trombone
Matt Nygren   Trumpet
Jaime Hanna   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Background Vocals
Scotty Huff   Trumpet
Gabriel Gordon   Guitar,Background Vocals
Justin Adams   Guitar
Tim Smith   Bass
Scott Bryan   Keyboards
Angela Diver   Background Vocals
Grainne Diver   Background Vocals
Joan Diver   Background Vocals
Marie Thersese Diver   Background Vocals
Tom Ehlen   Flugelhorn
Susan McCuen   Background Vocals
Carly Palsner   Celli
Elizabeth Steen   Hammond Organ
Christina Wheeler   Background Vocals
Thunder Smith   Drums,Background Vocals
Dennis Wilson   Saxophone,Woodwind

Technical Credits

Merle Haggard   Composer
Thom Cadley   Engineer
Tim Devine   Executive Producer
Kevin Killen   Engineer
Sinéad O'Connor   Composer
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Jeb Brien   Series Executive Producer
Hugo Ball   Composer
Dianne Spoto Shattuck   Packaging Manager
Alan Gifford   Talent Coordinator
Monica Hardiman   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews