The Best of the Chieftains [1992]

The Best of the Chieftains [1992]

by The Chieftains


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Best of the Chieftains [1992]

Well, sort of. The 50 minutes of music here represent the best of the group's three albums (Chieftains 7, Chieftains 8, Boil the Breakfast Early) recorded for Columbia Records during 1977, 1978, and 1979. It's a good collection, and not a bad place to start for the new listener, though it won't offer any revelations for longtime fans, who'd tuned in long before this point in their history. The lineup during this era was Paddy Moloney (uillean pipes, tin whistle), Sean Keane (fiddle), Mick Tubridy (flute, tin whistle, concertina), Kevin Cunniffe (bodhran), Martin Fay (fiddle), Derek Bell (harp, timpan, oboe), and Sean Potts (tin whistle), with Matt Molloy (flute) replacing Mick Tubridy on Boil the Breakfast Early. The material, a good distillation of the best of those three albums, all sounds fine and represents the group's virtuoso sound from this period.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2002
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 5099750636626
catalogNumber: 5063662
Rank: 78811

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews