The Best of the Grateful Dead

The Best of the Grateful Dead

by Grateful DeadGrateful Dead


$16.99 $21.99 Save 23% Current price is $16.99, Original price is $21.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Only the second major career-spanning retrospective of the Dead, The Best of the Grateful Dead -- released in the spring of 2015, just before a series of farewell shows in the summer -- takes advantage of the extra disc 2003's The Very Best of Grateful Dead lacked. Weighing in at 32 tracks -- a full 16 cuts longer than Very Best -- The Best of the Grateful Dead also follows a strict chronological sequence, so it takes a little while for the psychedelic haze to lift and the Dead to settle into the rangy, rootsy groove that characterized so much of their existence -- right around "St. Stephen" and "China Cat Sunflower," both from 1969's Aoxomoxoa. From there, many -- but by no means all -- of the group's warhorses are marched out, all in their studio incarnations. This structure perhaps invites some griping about their sometimes ill-advised attempts to ride commercial waves -- there's no disguising the disco diversion of "Shakedown Street" -- but by celebrating the warts and providing space for that unexpected late-'80s commercial comeback, The Best of the Grateful Dead is a good capsule history of a band that usually defies such straightforward narratives.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/2015
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227955984
catalogNumber: 547317
Rank: 14890


Disc 1

  1. The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)
  2. Cream Puff War
  3. Born Cross-Eyed
  4. Dark Star
  5. St. Stephen
  6. China Cat Sunflower
  7. Uncle John's Band
  8. Easy Wind
  9. Casey Jones
  10. Truckin'
  11. Box of Rain
  12. Sugar Magnolia
  13. Friend of the Devil
  14. Ripple
  15. Eyes of the World
  16. Unbroken Chain
  17. Scarlet Begonias
  18. The Music Never Stopped
  19. Estimated Prophet

Disc 2

  1. Terrapin Station
  2. Shakedown Street
  3. I Need a Miracle
  4. Fire On the Mountain
  5. Feel Like a Stranger
  6. Far From Me
  7. Touch of Grey
  8. Hell In a Bucket
  9. Throwing Stones
  10. Black Muddy River
  11. Blow Away
  12. Foolish Heart
  13. Standing On the Moon

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Grateful Dead   Primary Artist
Mickey Hart   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Jerry Garcia   Guitar,Piano,Pedal Steel Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Bob Weir   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Tom Scott   Saxophone,Lyricon
Tom Constanten   Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Ned Lagin   Synthesizer
Jordan Amarantha   Percussion
Martyn Ford   Conductor
Donna Jean Godchaux   Vocals,Group Member
Keith Godchaux   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
David Grisman   Mandolin
Bill Kreutzmann   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Phil Lesh   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Group Member
Ron "Pigpen" McKernan   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Percussion,Conga,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Brent Mydland   Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Dave Torbert   Bass
Robert Howes   Conductor
Martyn Ford Orchestra   Strings
Dave Nelson   Electric Guitar
English Choral   Vocals
Stephen Schuster   Saxophone
Matthew Kelly   Harp

Technical Credits

Mickey Hart   Composer
Jerry Garcia   Composer,Producer
Grateful Dead   Producer
Bob Weir   Composer
Lowell George   Producer
Paul Buckmaster   Orchestral Arrangements
John Cutler   Producer
Dan Healy   Producer
Bill Kreutzmann   Composer
Phil Lesh   Composer
Gary Lyons   Producer
Ron "Pigpen" McKernan   Composer
Brent Mydland   Composer
Keith Olsen   Producer
Mark Pinkus   Executive Producer
Lisa Glines   Layout
Blair Jackson   Liner Notes
Dawson   Composer
Michael Wesley Johnson   Tape Research
Dave Hassinger   Producer

Customer Reviews