The Best of the Marshall Tucker Band: The Capricorn Years

The Best of the Marshall Tucker Band: The Capricorn Years

by The Marshall Tucker Band


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Best of the Marshall Tucker Band: The Capricorn Years

This fairly self-explanatory double-disc compilation gathers 27 sides from '70s Southern rock staples the Marshall Tucker Band. With a blend of intricate jamming and straight-ahead guitar-driven rock & roll, the MTB were among the predecessors to the success of their Capricorn labelmates -- the Allman Brothers Band, Cowboy, and Sea Level. They also incorporated elements of jazz, folk, and country to create a unique and original sound that effortlessly crossed genres, yet never strayed too far away from their decidedly down-home essence. The MTB only scored a handful of hits -- such as "Heard It in a Love Song," "Take the Highway," "Can't You See," and "Fire on the Mountain" -- which of course are represented here. However, the seven long-players that featured the incipient incarnation(s) of the MTB reveal a synergy among bandmates Doug Gray (vocals), Toy Caldwell (guitar/vocals), his brother Tommy Caldwell (bass/vocals), George McCorkle (guitar), Paul Riddle (drums), and Jerry Eubanks (flute/sax/vocals). Their laid-back ethos hung equally on the band's diversity of styles and skills. Toy Caldwell's prowess as a guitar player stretches beyond that of a standard acoustic and electric picker. Tracks such as "See You Later, I'm Gone" and "Virginia" show off his amazing depth as a steel guitarist as well. The deep and somewhat reverential twang that commences "Fire on the Mountain" harks back to the roots of the MTB's high and lonesome bluegrass origins. Then, mix in Eubanks' light and airy reed work for a truly liberating experience that is also distinctly American. The Best of the Marshall Tucker Band: The Capricorn Years (1994) features examples of the combo's loose instrumental jamming on "In My Own Way," "A New Life," and the 13-plus minute live rendering of "24 Hours at a Time." This cut definitely rivaled the Lynyrd Skynyrd epic "Free Bird" or the Allmans' "Whipping Post" for spin time on many FM album rock radio stations, back when they were still spinning LPs. This collection features several "45 versions" -- which may best serve the burgeoning or casual enthusiast. However, diehards will want to seek out the full-length renderings of "Can't You See," "This Ol' Cowboy," "Searchin' for a Rainbow," and "Long Hard Ride." The accompanying 26-page booklet is replete with discographical and biographical information as well some black-and-white photos. The Best of the Marshall Tucker Band: The Capricorn Years is a good place for all interested parties to begin.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/1994
Label: K-Tel
UPC: 0022775502725
catalogNumber: 5027

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marshall Tucker Band   Primary Artist
Elvin Bishop   Slide Guitar
Toy Caldwell   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
John McEuen   Banjo,Mandolin
Tommy Caldwell   Bass,Percussion,Electric Bass,Drums,Bass Guitar,Tambourine,Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Charlie Daniels   Fiddle,Vocal Harmony
Jerry Eubanks   Flute,Percussion,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Background Vocals,Flute Saxophone,Vocal Harmony
Earl Ford   Trombone,Horn
Doug Gray   Percussion,Vocal Harmony
Paul Hornsby   Organ,Clarinet,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Moog Synthesizer
Oscar Jackson   Horn
Jaimoe   Conga
Jerome Joseph   Conga
Leo Labranche   Trumpet
Dezso Lakatos   Tenor Saxophone
Chuck Leavell   Electric Piano
Todd Logan   Horn
Steve Madaio   Trumpet
George McCorkle   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,12-string Guitar,Whip
Sam McPherson   Harp
Paul Riddle   Drums
Andy Stein   Fiddle
Fred Wise   Fiddle
Richard Betts   Guitar
Harold Williams   Horn
Alan McDonald   Mandolin
Johnny Vernazza   Slide Guitar

Technical Credits

Tim Hardin   Composer
Ken Caillat   Engineer
Rick Clark   Liner Notes
Jack Crymes   Engineer
Jerry Eubanks   Contributor
Paul Hornsby   Producer,Engineer,Remixing
Leo Labranche   Horn Arrangements
Stewart Levine   Producer
Rik Pekkonen   Remixing
Johnny Sandlin   Contributor,Remix Consultant
Ovie Sparks   Engineer,Remixing,Remix Consultant
Buddy Thornton   Engineer
Sam Whiteside   Engineer,Remixing
Tony Humphreys   Remixing
Adam Marano   Composer
Ann Cleary   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews