The Best of Silverchair, Vol. 1

The Best of Silverchair, Vol. 1

by Silverchair
5.0 5

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Best of Silverchair, Vol. 1

Popular enough in their native Australia to get their mugs immortalized on a postage stamp, this post-grunge trio has been somewhat quiet in the States in recent times. But this 22-song collection, which peppers the band's past highs with several newly-recorded tunes, serves as a reminder of the surprising power Daniel Johns and company had even before puberty fully kicked in, as well as the maturity they've gained since. The proto-Nirvana wailing of songs such as "Israel's Song" and "Freak" gradually gives way to the epic sweep of aching songs like "Emotion Sickness" (which features arrangements and keyboards from David Helfgott, whose life story inspired the film Shine). More compelling than the hits, however, are the glimpses into what made Silverchair the band that it's become, including a smattering of fascinating covers like "Wasted" (from the archives of hardcore godfathers Black Flag) and "New Race" (an adrenalized snarl culled from Aussie punk pioneers Radio Birdman). Although it may seem a bit presumptuous to use the "Volume One" appellation at this point in Silverchair's development, there are enough surprises here to make it seem legitimate -- and to make fans eager for part two.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2009
Label: Imports
UPC: 5099750130025
catalogNumber: 858408


  1. Anthem For The Year 2000
  2. Freak
  3. Ana's Song (Open Fire)
  4. Emotion Sickness
  5. Israel's Son
  6. Tomorrow
  7. Cemetary
  8. The Door
  9. Miss You Love
  10. Abuse Me
  11. Pure Massacre
  12. Untitled
  13. New Race
  14. Trash
  15. Ana's Song (Open Fire) - (acoustic remix)
  16. Madman
  17. Blind
  18. Punk Song #2
  19. Wasted / Fix Me
  20. Wasted
  21. Minor Threat
  22. Freak - (Remix For Us Rejects)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Best Of, Vol. 1 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 0 reviews.