The Big Cat Nap: The 20th Anniversary Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mrs. Murphy Series #20)

The Big Cat Nap: The 20th Anniversary Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mrs. Murphy Series #20)

by Rita Mae Brown
4.1 59

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Anniversary)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 


The Big Cat Nap: The 20th Anniversary Mrs. Murphy Mystery (Mrs. Murphy Series #20) by Rita Mae Brown

“As feline collaborators go, you couldn’t ask for better than Sneaky Pie Brown.”—The New York Times Book Review 
It’s mid-May and murder is once again in full bloom in Crozet, Virginia—or so it seems to Mary Minor “Harry” Haristeen. The trouble begins when Harry’s dear friend Miranda Hogendobber takes her on a leisurely drive that ends in a narrow drainage ditch. The chaos continues when the Very Reverend Herbert Jones’s Chevy pickup also abruptly goes kaput. But these vehicular mishaps are nothing compared to the much more distressing state of a mechanic discovered by Harry in a local repair shop: His head’s been bashed in. Despite numerous warnings from her much-loved coterie of friends, human and otherwise, Harry quickly surmises that the time has come to pop the hood and conduct her own investigation. Her animal companions see disaster fast approaching but can do little except try their best to protect their foolishly intrepid human. Harry’s race to the truth leads straight to powerful forces determined to avoid scrutiny at any cost—even if it means running Harry Haristeen off the road for good.
Includes a preview of Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie Brown’s next Mrs. Murphy mystery, The Litter of the Law

“Harry and her pals are on the case. . . . [Brown] fills the series with rich central Virginia color, and readers will greet the recurring characters with fondness.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch
“[A] delightful book.”—Huntington News

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345530455
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/30/2013
Series: Mrs. Murphy Series , #20
Edition description: Anniversary
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 205,011
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.80(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Rita Mae Brown is the bestselling author of the Sneaky Pie Brown series; the Sister Jane series; A Nose for Justice and Murder Unleashed; Rubyfruit Jungle; In Her Day; and Six of One, as well as several other novels. An Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet, Brown lives in Afton, Virginia.
Sneaky Pie Brown, a tiger cat born somewhere in Albemarle County, Virginia, was discovered by Rita Mae Brown at her local SPCA. They have collaborated on numerous Mrs. Murphy mysteries—in addition to Sneaky Pie’s Cookbook for Mystery Lovers and Sneaky Pie for President.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Big Cat Nap: The 20th Anniversary Mrs. Murphy Mystery 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Get off the soap box and go back to writing a good mystery.
ReaderCT More than 1 year ago
This was a noticeable change in tone for Ms. Brown and all of her characters. The animals are fighting all the time, and the people are downright 'snarky'. The plot is a good one. I do miss the horses in this series, but all the regulars are here. They're just all annoyed with each other all the time, which sets a stressful tone to everything. I do hope RMB gets her sense of humor back in time for the next one.
LinRob More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the bits about farm life, farm equipment and autos. The author's descriptions were interesting and informative. The relationships described among friends was gratifying. Harry's pets were a charming addition. Their conversations with each other were annoying at first but grew on me somewhat. I generally enjoy a much faster paced book but worth the read if you like to immerse yourself in small town life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a large black cat with white spots on my back paws,large fangs and emerald green eyes. I fear no one and would die for my name Nightwind...i will wait your summons
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Im glad to be back." Groupleaf purred.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my testing&#3120 oh my&race oh my&star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(I don't know how. She decided to quit and give it to me.) "I don't know." She mewed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read every book in the series.  I enjoyed this one as a continuation of character development, strong plot, likable insights into &quot;pets&quot;.  I do not necessarily like the addition of a lot of tension.
Dianne5 More than 1 year ago
Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie have done it again! A very delightful and entertaining mystery and my favorites are the animals and their looking out for Harry as she noses into another mystery!
wisewomanwendy More than 1 year ago
can never get to much of HARRY and the gang. Loved it, but as always was gone too fast
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
d__m More than 1 year ago
Harry was just a very common person with a highly curious mind like her cats and dog that traveled with her. You were able to keep up with her way of thinking and it was entertaining. I look forward to reading another book by Ms. Brown.
jmb260 More than 1 year ago
This was a really quick read and pretty good. Not as detailed as the heavier mysteries, but a pleasant change.
catmomWG More than 1 year ago
I have all of the Mrs. Murphy mysteries and love them all....Harry gets into so much trouble and the "kids" (her 2 cats and 1 dog) have to get her out of read the animals thoughts is so funny and having cats, I can relate to the conversations----and all animal owners know what I'm talking it and find out for yourselves....and the good thing about these books are that you don't have to read the previous books to be up-to-date, but I recommend that you do, because they are a wonderful read.....enjoy!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dragoncharmer More than 1 year ago
I give this book 3 1/2 stars, but, since 1/2 star can't be awarded, I went with 4. It's better than some of the more recent books in the series, but not as good as the best of them. The animals are squabbling among themselves, the humans are revealing far more about their unpleasant traits than they should, and I learned more about motor vehicles and their inner workings than I ever cared to know. On the whole, though, the mystery is ingriguing and the 4 footed and winged participants are charming and funny. I'll continue to read the series, but I do wish Ms. Brown would get off her soap box and write a mystery without the political commentary. If she wants to write political commentary, there's a venue for that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dukewife More than 1 year ago
Reading this series is like going home and hearing all the hometown gossip (Crozet just has more murders than most towns) Pewter, Tucker, Ms.Murphy are right there with Harry as she tries to figure out who is killing mechanics at the local repair shop. I don't expect roller coaster excitement with these books, I just enjoy the animals conversations and the human observations. I've been a fan since the beginning and this is a nice 20th anniversary story!