The Big Six (Swallows and Amazons Series #9)

The Big Six (Swallows and Amazons Series #9)


$44.97 $49.97 Save 10% Current price is $44.97, Original price is $49.97. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


The Big Six (Swallows and Amazons Series #9) by Arthur Ransome, Alison Larkin

Plunge into the Norfolk Broads as the Ds join up with the Coot Club once again, this time to solve a very baffling crime.
     'Why shouldn't we be detectives too?'

     When Dick and Dorothea arrive in the Norfolk Broads all set for a blissful summer on the river, they find their friends the Death and Glories in a very bad situation. Accused of setting boats adrift, sabotage and theft, the boys are under suspicion by everyone on the river. And in the meantime, the real culprits are still at large. There's no choice but to form a crime-busting team: The Big Six. As the evidence stacks against them, can they solve the mystery and trap the real criminals?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455858590
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication date: 09/01/2012
Series: Swallows and Amazons Series , #9
Product dimensions: 7.12(w) x 6.50(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Arthur Ransome was born in 1884. He was in Russia in 1917 and witnessed the Revolution, which he reported for the Manchester Guardian. After escaping to Scandinavia, he settled in the Lake District of England with his Russian wife where, in 1929, he wrote Swallows and Amazons. Thus began a writing career that has produced some of the best children s literature of all time.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Big Six 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
A_Harvard_Scholar More than 1 year ago
In "The Big Six", Ransome alters his style just a bit, and crafts a sort of juvenile detective story--of course, with lots of Ransome-style adventure, fishing, and sailing thrown into the bargain. We follow the characters from Book 5 (Coot Club) as they seek to uncover the mystery of who is maliciously setting boats adrift. Motivating them is not only curiosity, but also the desire to clear their own names of blame! I enjoyed this book, though it is rather atypical for Ransome. (There's no sign of John, Captain Nancy, Roger, or any of the original gang! Additionally, the focus is more intent upon real mystery, rather than the usual "exploring" or battling "pirates".) The general effect is that of Ransome crossed with the Boxcar Children. I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys mysteries, sailing, and any other Arthur Ransome books. It's wholesome, enjoyable reading!