The Blackford Oakes Reader (Blackford Oakes Series)

The Blackford Oakes Reader (Blackford Oakes Series)

by William F. Buckley Jr.


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


You are introduced, in a single volume, to a central character from each of Buckley's ten spy novels. All stand alone in this readable, exciting, and thoughtful collection. As diverse characters find their lives entangled in the web of international espionage, Buckley gives his own stylish, sly, and erudite perspective on intriguing world events.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781583483831
Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
Publication date: 07/30/1999
Series: Blackford Oakes Series
Pages: 312
Sales rank: 785,818
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)

Table of Contents

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Blackford Oakes Reader (Blackford Oakes Series) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
tututhefirst on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
These are ten short stories based on the characters in his Blackford Oakes novels. We are assured they are all stand-alone stories and will not spoil reading the novels. Without exception, they are fantastic reading. The stories are set in various venues of WWII, Spanish civil war, the Castro Cuban revoluntion, the Russian revolution, and the mid 20th century Cold War. Lots of spies, KGB, CIA,and double-dealing, while exploring the psychological motivation and stresses of people living in repressed states.In addition to great characters, and well plotted stories, Buckley's mastery of the written word is incredible. His sentence structure and vocabulary are a tribute to the fast-disappearing liberal arts education.If you are looking for a good read, and/or have never read any of Buckley's fiction, this is a highly recommended place to start. A definite 5 stars.