The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic

The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic

by Will Brooker (Editor)

Hardcover

$80.00
Want it by Monday, November 26 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781904764311
Publisher: Wallflower Press
Publication date: 02/21/2006
Pages: 240
Product dimensions: 6.26(w) x 9.50(h) x 0.89(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Will Brooker is associate professor in communications at Richmond, the American International University in London. He is the author of Batman Unmasked: Analyzing a Cultural Icon; Using the Force: Creativity, Community and 'Star Wars' Fans; and Alice's Adventures: Lewis Carroll in Pop.

Table of Contents

Editor's note
Notes on contributors
Introduction: 2019 Vision, by Will Brooker
The Blade Runner Experience: Pilgrimage and Liminal Space, by Will Brooker
Post-Millennium Blade Runner, by Judith B. Kerman
Section 1: The Cinema Of Philip K. Dick
Reel Toads and Imaginary Cities: Philip K. Dick, Blade Runner and the Contemporary Science Fiction Movie, by Aaron Barlow
Redemption, 'Race', Religion, Reality and the Far-Right: Science Fiction Film Adaptations of Philip K. Dick, by Dominic Alessio
Section 2: Playing Blade Runner
Replicating the Blade Runner, by Barry Atkins
Implanted Memories, or the Illusion of Free Action, by Susana P. Tosca
Section 3: Fans
Scanning the Replicant Text, by Jonathan Gray
Academic Textual Poachers: Blade Runner as Cult Canonical Movie, by Matt Hills
Originals and Copies: The Fans of Philip K. Dick, Blade Runner and K. W. Jeter, by Christy Gray
Section 4: Identities
The Rachel Papers: In Search of Blade Runner's Femme Fatale, by Deborah Jermyn
Purge! Class Pathology in Blade Runner, by Sean Redmond
Postmodern Romance: The Impossibility of (De)centring the Self, by Nick Lacey
Section 5: The City
False LA: Blade Runner and the Nightmare City, by Stephen Rowley
Imagining the Real: Blade Runner and Discourses on the Postmetropolis, by Peter Brooker
Filmography
Bibliography
Index

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews