The Blues

The Blues

by Nina Simone

Item is available through our marketplace sellers and in stores.


The Blues

Most of the music on this CD reissue dates from 1966-1967, featuring the unique singer-pianist Nina Simone joined by a funky rhythm section (with Eric Gale and Rudy Stevenson on guitars and organist Ernest Hayes) in addition to Buddy Lucas on tenor and harmonica; a few of the other selections utilize a larger backup group. Simone is the star throughout the blues-based material, performing fresh and emotional versions of such songs as Lil Green's "In the Dark," "My Man's Gone Now," "Since I Fell for You," and "The House of the Rising Sun." Some of Simone's original songs deal frankly with love and sex while others protest racism and poverty. Stimulating and still-timely music.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/12/1991
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886977116421
catalogNumber: 771164


  1. Do I Move You?
  2. Day And Night
  3. In the Dark
  4. Real Real
  5. My Man's Gone Now
  6. I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl
  7. Buck
  8. Since I Fell for You
  9. The House of the Rising Sun
  10. Blues for Mama
  11. The Pusher
  12. Turn Me On
  13. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  14. Go to Hell
  15. I Shall Be Released
  16. Gin House Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews