The Body-Hat Syndrome

The Body-Hat Syndrome

by Digital Underground


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Body-Hat Syndrome

Rebounding, in the charts anyway, from the relative downturn of 1991's Sons of the P LP, Digital Underground continued cultivating its own brand of P-Funk culture on The Body-Hat Syndrome two years later, stuffing what had been the group's first year of silence with a fresh batch of funk-infused rap. Digital Underground's last effort for longtime label Tommy Boy, The Body-Hat Syndrome lacked some of the bright spark and humor that informed the band's first two albums. With the edgy grind of the leading single, "The Return of the Crazy One," and its accompanying X-rated video (reworked for public consumption) boosting the band back into the spotlight, the rest of the album unfurled to less than outstanding crossover commercial acclaim -- the album's second single, the slightly melancholy and anti-racism cultural awareness politico "Whassup Wit the Love," barely cracked the R&B Top 100. But that's not to say that this set doesn't represent another brilliant feather in the group's cap -- it does. Smooth grooves, understated humor, and gentle remonstrations of peace, love, and manifesto continue to drive the Digital Underground style, here sampled across a chunky 20-track set. "Holly Wanstaho" is a fantastic jazz-tripped reinvention of Parliament's "Holly Wants to Go to California," while the completely original big bass beat "Brand Nu Swetta" is the perfect dance groove. The three-part "Body-Hats" breaks up the action. Two bonus tracks, "The Humpty Dance Awards" and "Wheee!," are included on The Body-Hat Syndrome's CD issue. With a smart balance between old-school, new-school, and their own school sonics, Digital Underground has once again brought funk history to life, passing the torch to the next generation and, above all, having one hell of a good time doing it.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/05/1993
Label: Warner Spec. MKT. Uk
UPC: 0016998108024
catalogNumber: 981080

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Digital Underground   Primary Artist
Saafir   Vocals
2Pac   Vocals
Clee Askew   Vocals
Michael Boston   Vocals,Voices
Ron Brooks   Vocals,Voices
Earl Cook   Vocals,Voices
Gary "Mudbone" Cooper   Vocals,Background Vocals
D-Love   Vocals
DJ Fuze   Keyboards,Turntables,Sampling
Gwen Everett   Vocals,Voices
Ronald "Omar" Everett   Vocals,Voices
Ramone "Pee Wee" Gooden   Vocals,Voices
Michael Hampton   Guitar
Shock-G   Bass,Vocals
Toby "T-Love" Holton   Vocals,Voices
Jeremy "Jay-Z" Jackson   Keyboards,Turntables,Vocals,Voices,Sampling
Descaro Moore   Vocals,Voices
Kim Morgan   Vocals,Voices
O.B.   Vocals
Piano-Man   Keyboards,Turntables,Sampling
Mark Sexx   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ronvell Sharper   Vocals,Voices
Shat   Vocals
Garry Shider   Vocals,Background Vocals
Shirley Tabor   Vocals,Voices
Greg Jacobs   Voices
Shah Sexx   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Bernie Worrell   Composer
Charles Wilson   Composer
Clee Askew   Composer
Bootsy Collins   Composer
Ron Brooks   Composer
Steve Counter   Engineer
Michael Denten   Engineer
DJ Fuze   Programming
Darrin Harris   Engineer
Jeremy "Jay-Z" Jackson   Programming
Matt Kelley   Engineer
Bob Morse   Engineer
Piano-Man   Programming
Mark Slagle   Engineer
Roger   Composer
Erwin Gorostiza   Art Direction
Greg Jacobs   Composer,Art Direction
Rackadelic   Illustrations,Animation
Tupac Shakur   Composer
David Elliot   Composer
Michael Boston   Composer
R. Mohamed   Composer
Jeremy Jackson   Composer
Eddie Humphrey   Composer
D-Flo Production Squad   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews