The Boleyn Deceit (Boleyn Trilogy Series #2)

The Boleyn Deceit (Boleyn Trilogy Series #2)

by Laura Andersen
4.7 12

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Boleyn Deceit (Boleyn Trilogy Series #2) by Laura Andersen

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending war, and unbridled passions.
 
The regency period is over and William Tudor, now King Henry IX, sits alone on the throne. But England must still contend with those who doubt his legitimacy, both in faraway lands and within his own family. To diffuse tensions and appease the Catholics, William is betrothed to a young princess from France, but still he has eyes for only his childhood friend Minuette, and court tongues are wagging. 
 
Even more scandalous—and dangerous, if discovered—is that Minuette’s heart and soul belong to Dominic, William’s best friend and trusted advisor. Minuette must walk a delicate balance between her two suitors, unable to confide in anyone, not even her friend Elizabeth, William’s sister, who must contend with her own cleaved heart. In this irresistible tale, the secrets that everyone keeps are enough to change the course of an empire.

Includes a preview of Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn Reckoning
 
Praise for The Boleyn Deceit
 
“Detailed and quick-paced, [The Boleyn Deceit] will have series fans devouring it and emerging eager for the last book. An excellent recommendation for Phillippa Gregory fans.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“This entertaining work of alternative history offers plenty to savor for both fans of historical romance and those whose passion is political intrigue. . . . Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Andersen’s novel admirably takes artistic license with history while remaining true to many aspects of real-world history. . . . [Foreshadows] a mesmerizing conclusion to the trilogy.”Publishers Weekly
 
“An intriguing re-imagining of Tudor England and the treacheries of court life.”Kirkus Reviews
 
Praise for Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn King
 
“A sumptuous, vividly imagined novel of a Boleyn king’s fateful rise to power amid the treacherous glamour of the Tudor court.”—C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen’s Vow
 
“Fans of both Stephenie Meyer and Philippa Gregory will find much to love in this evocative and well-written debut.”—Francine Mathews, author of Jack 1939
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345534125
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 11/05/2013
Series: Boleyn Trilogy Series , #2
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 39,320
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Laura Andersen is married with four children, and possesses a constant sense of having forgotten something important. She has a BA in English (with an emphasis in British history), which she puts to use by reading everything she can lay her hands on.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked all the intreauges at court.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love everything Tudor. Laura Andersen makes me truly believe that Anne's and Henry's son lived and in the end I am sad that he didn't. I truly came to love all the characters. It is a great way to spend an afternoon or a couple. I was glad there was a third one when I was finished.
pagese More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first book in the series, but I was curious about the long term sustainability involving a character that's fictional surrounded by events and people that are very much a part of history. I think the author has done a lot of research before tackling this series to make it seem as believable as possible. I wasn't sure what to think of William in the first book. He's a young king stepping out of regency with a powerful legacy to live up to. I think he might have been afraid to spread his wings at first, but now he's really coming into his own. I feel the author has done an excellent job of making it plausible that he's a mixture of Henry and Anne. He seems to exhibit qualities from both parents. He's fierce in his love for Minuette and will bend at nothing to get exactly what he wants. He's manipulating history into place. I found Elizabeth to be fascinating in this series. She's pretty much in the exact same position that she was in history. She knows she has the ability of be a wonderful ruler. But, will she be given the chance? The only difference is that I feel she doesn't have to walk on eggshells as much with Willliam and she really did with Mary. I find it fascinating that the author has managed to make events still happen in different manners. So, I have a feeling that the world is going to end up in a very similar situation when Elizabeth comes to power in this alternate version of history. So, was it always Elizabeth's fate to become Queen? The only thing about this book that throws me off a little is the absolute familiarity between William, Elizabeth, Minuette, and Dominic. I just don't expect that. It's obviously changing now that certain situations have come up. I wonder if we will ever get that tone that says "you can't speak in that familiar way because I am King" I've loved this series so far. I'm excited to see how we get to that final point in history!
OHARADN More than 1 year ago
I read this just having finished the first installment of this trilogy. The second was better than the first, or maybe I was used to the author's style. I have to say, this book now took our love triangle into what I felt was too near the legend of Isolde & Tristian, and not original. I was much more interested in what was happening with Elizabeth. and the intrigue has some unseen surprises. I will read the last, but will know this trilogy could have been so much more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant wait for the 3rd book to come out ! Hurry please !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great if you've read the Boleyn King. Not as much intrigue in this novel as the first, yet it was still a page turner and I will eagerly wait for the next book in the trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never want those books to end!!!!!
JudiRohrig More than 1 year ago
And the story continues . . . The "what if" (that Anne Boleyn successfully delivered a boy to Henry VIII) begun in THE BOLEYN KING finds the quartet of William (now King Henry IX), sister Elizabeth, friend Dominic, and love Minuette fending with the French, the Catholics, the Scottish, fellow Englishmen, and their own hearts. Laura Andersen is a terrific storyteller on par with Karen Harper, Sharon Kay Penman, and Elizabeth Chadwick. I can't wait for the thrilling conclusion to this series.
DolphinChick More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book! This is the second book in a trilogy, which I didn’t realize until I started reading it…but Laura Andersen does a great job of explaining what’s happening, so I had no problem getting into the story and loving the characters even though I hadn’t read the first book. (though I will probably go back and read the first book soon just to get even more detail on the characters)  This is a story about what it might have been like had Anne Boleyn had a son to be heir to the King. It is so well written. There are a lot of characters, and with theirs titles I was a bit lost at first trying to keep track, but I soon had hold of the important ones and came to like them very much.  There’s William, Anne’s son and now King. Elizabeth, Anne’s daughter. Dominic, William’s closest friend and adviser. And Minuette, Elizabeth’s closest friend and lady in waiting. These four have grown up together and are very close friends…which becomes really complicated when romantic feelings come up between William, Minuette and Dominic.  Life in court is always filled with plots, intrigue and subterfuge…between dealing with love, murder, politics and religion, there’s always something to take your breath away! It does leave off in quite an important place so I’m dying to get the next book!! Can’t wait!! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A worthy and satisfying addition to the story of Queen Anne Bolynn's son and daughter. Familiar historical characters plot and scheme in intriguing ways. I especially enjoy when the story follows Elizabeth's point of view. Her remarkable abilities are highlighted as she maneuvers through the minefield of standing next in line to the throne-a role she lived most of her true early days. Her character is shown more sypathetically than in any other work I have read. The other appealing element is the love story woven between the two fictional characters who are life long friends of the royal siblings. The rich, well rounded character development makes this a worthwhile reading experience. Now all that is needed is patience to wait for the next installment.
GreatBooks1WowEC More than 1 year ago
Terrific, engrossing and surpising historial fiction.