The Bomb That Blew Up God: And Other Serious Poems

The Bomb That Blew Up God: And Other Serious Poems

by Freddy Niagara Fonseca


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


THE BOMB THAT BLEW UP GOD (And Other Serious Poems) is a collection of poetry of 113 poems on 182 pages, uniting seven major themes in seven chapters. Together they read like a dynamic, yet intimate travelogue through our soul and the life we are living on Planet Earth.

Chapter 1: SHARDS OF LIGHT begins in an uncertain universe of random smatterings of light on the verge of spiritual darkness. The poems in this chapter are mostly introspective, set in colorful locales on the globe and vast realms of the soul. Amidst all of this, we also find lighter content related to a growing sense of light.

Chapter 2: DANCES, MUSIC, MAGIC. This chapter is marked by energy and melody. It intends to invoke sheer joy, motion, and exotic ambiance. At the same time, each poem evokes vivid pictures, recurring memories and humor riding on exciting, novel rhythms.

Chapter 3: THE BOMB THAT BLEW UP GOD contains the title poem, a satyric fable demonstrating God’s eternal resilience and mercy, one of the pillars of this book. The tone of the first part of the chapter is one of facing challenges in the midst of considerable adversity. The second half is more relaxed. Some poems are emotionally charged, asking poignant questions. Others suggest plausible answers in veiled ways.

Chapter 4: VIGNETTES. Here we’re being entertained by brief comedies, mini-dramas, dramedies and alluring observations told in as few words as possible. In a way this collection represents a gravitational centerpoint. However, this doesn’t mean that every poem is for entertainment alone. Challenges abound.

Chapter 5: DO WE REALLY DIE. Death, one of the major realities of life is met in this chapter from several unusual angles. Obviously there is drama at times, but also resignation. There's even a humorous poem among the bunch. Other poems seem matter-of-fact, serving as sobering anchors in a final harbor.

Chapter 6: STRANGE RENEWAL opens doors to some of the most diverse, reckless and theatrical poems in the book. On the one hand, we are seeing some mundane, everyday challenges we all share being brought to unexpected conclusions. But there’s also room for thoughtful soliloquies heralding spiritual transformation.

Chapter 7: A NEW DAWN, the last chapter showcases poetry exclusively set in the natural world and how we respond to it. Here we take in Nature at its most beautiful, epic, and uplifting. We witness the grand cycles of the Universe turning. In a goodly number of poems we experience a measure of contentment, understanding, and appreciation of our existence.

Editorial Reviews

BookLife Reviews


Fonseca’s second collection of poems (after This Enduring Gift), organized into seven sections, displays a clear writing style scored with tenderness and splashes of humor. The poems capture pivotal moments in relationships and point to the thread that connects humankind and the divine. Fonseca tackles adult subjects, such as alcoholism, a father-daughter relationship, and separation, with a confessional quality. Some of the collection’s poems have a theme and style that will appeal to a younger audience—“Sunset Blues” has traditional rhyme and rhythms, and “Fireworks” opens with an exciting “pow, ka-BOOOOM, fizzzz”—but both poems go deeper to address taking stock of oneself.

The collection begins to shine in the third section. Humor and creativity meld in the poetic fable of the title poem, which quips, “God retired and Angels sang Him to sleep.” When Fonseca turns his attention to the mundane, his poems pack concentrated power. The two depictions of a quiet, residential street in “Small Town Routine–One View” and “Small Town Routine–A Different View” reveal how the attitudes held by two neighbors colors how each one reacts to a commotion on their street. The clear images will give readers a chuckle. Anyone who has regretted lending a book to a friend will understand the passionate attachment described in “Long-Lost Books.”

Fonseca’s experience curating the Candlelight Reading Series is reflected in the flow of his poems, which take on an added texture when read aloud. This collection carries readers to Greece, Trinidad, and Brazil as well as several periods of history, as in “My Creole Belle,” which depicts a 19th-century cakewalk pageant. Modern poetry fans will delight in these poems, which capture the emotions of intimate and public moments.

Takeaway: This splendid collection attracts modern poetry readers with playful language and evocative imagery.

Great for fans of A.R. Ammons, Gary Snyder, Li-Young Lee.

Production grades Cover: B+ Design and typography: A- Illustrations: - Editing: A- Marketing copy: A-

From the Publisher

"From haiku to narrative free verse, his exploration of form, rhyme

and rhythm is almost a compendium of modern poetic style. The

tone is varied too - from playful humor to earnest poignancy - but

the poems are artfully arranged to lead the reader smoothly from

one emotion to next. And then there is the breadth of subject

matter, which allows the reader a close-up view of the vastness of

human experience, across the globe and deep within, through the

poet’s eyes. Freddy’s poems are accessible on the surface, easy to

read, yet layered with deeper meaning for those willing to spend

more time with them."

—Monica Hadley, entrepreneur and host of the podcast Writers’

Voices with Monica and Caroline

"Drawing from a wide cultural background, Freddy Niagara

Fonseca, skips, dances and delights his way through this wonderful

collection of poems."

—Tony Ellis, author of There is Wisdom in Walnuts

"I loved this vast, complex, yet simple book of wonderful poetry. I

recommend this book of sublime intensity to any true reader."

—Rudy Wilson, National Award-Winning Author of several novels

"Here is a highly educated mind, taking from a thorough familiarity

with the forms of poetry only what fits most fluidly to his purpose."

—Karla Christensen, poet, muralist, illustrator, Ecuador

"This collection of works is distinctive — certainly original and

eclectic, deeply sobering and uniquely stylized."

—Rodney Charles, author of the bestselling Every Day A Miracle


"Here is the collection of poetry I have waited for all my life — Freddy Niagara Fonseca’s The Bomb That Blew Up God. At last, poems that satisfy both the critical mind and longing soul. Bold exquisite, rich language and brilliant awake treatments breathe life into worthy themes — nature, seasons, home, memory, dance, death, music, poetry, contentment. These poems entertain!”

~ Burton Milward, Jr., retired attorney, author, radio show host

"What a variety of emotions in these poems! Some whimsical and

calling to be read aloud, some elegantly musical with a touch of


—Jeffrey Moses, Author of Oneness: Great Principles Shared by All


"This impressive volume is one that we can pick up at bedtime and

open any page for mind travel. We are reminded that we are part

of the world of nature."

—Gretchen Langstaff Schaffer, dancer, BA Fine Arts in Dance The

Juilliard School

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781421836553
Publisher: 1st World Publishing
Publication date: 08/25/2020
Pages: 194
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.45(d)

Customer Reviews