The Boomerang Effect

The Boomerang Effect

by Gordon Jack

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29

Overview

A hilariously subversive YA debut that explores the meaning of friendship and loyalty, and also why you should avoid being trapped in a small space with an angry chicken. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith’s Winger and Frank Portman’s King Dork.

It all started with a harmless prank. But now high school junior Lawrence Barry is one step away from reform school unless he participates in a mentorship program. His mentee? Spencer Knudsen, a Norwegian exchange student with Spock-like intelligence but the social skills of the periodic table.

Then disaster strikes. Homecoming Week. When someone dressed as the school Viking mascot starts destroying the fairytale-inspired floats, all suspicion falls on Lawrence. Add to the mix a demon Goth girl, a Renaissance LARPing group, an overzealous yearbook editor, and three vindictive chickens, and Lawrence soon realizes that his situation may be a little out of control. But Spencer seems to have some answers. In fact, Spencer may be the one friend Lawrence never knew he needed.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062399397
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 11/08/2016
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Gordon Jack always wanted to be a writer. In third grade, he put that on his “What I Want to Be When I Grow Up” list, just behind astronaut and professional dog walker. While working toward this goal, he had jobs as an advertising copywriter, English teacher, librarian, and semiprofessional dog walker. The Boomerang Effect is his first novel. He lives in San Francisco with his family. Visit him online at www.gordon-jack.com or on Twitter @gordojack.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Boomerang Effect 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
CQuimby More than 1 year ago
Boomerang Effect is hilarious, well written, has heart and suspense (and chickens!) An excellent choice for anyone, but particularly noteworthy as a book to appeal to teenage boys. Jack writes for everyone, but remembers the voice and heart of early high school from the make perspective. Incidentally, I found Boomerang Effect and decided to review it after looking for his current book, Your Own Worst Enemy, released this month. It is so excellent, a read for all with a focus again on the under-represented 9th-12th grade boy population. No vampires, no dystopia, but an engaging, hilarious, smartly written novel that Kirkus and Publishers Weekly call "satire at its best" and "top notch story telling."