The Breathing Sea I

The Breathing Sea I

by E. P. Clark

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Dasha is a gift from the gods. Only she's not very gifted.

Bronze Medal, Epic Fantasy, Readers' Favorite Book Awards 2018.
Finalist, Golden Book Awards 2018.
Official Selection, E-Book Fantasy, New Apple Book Awards 2018.
Second Place, Epic Fantasy, Virtual FantasyCon 2017.


Eighteen years ago, Dasha's mother made a bargain with the gods. She would bear a gods-touched child, one who would stand on the threshold between the worlds, human and divine. Dasha is that child, now almost ready to become a woman, and one day take her mother's place as Empress of all of Zem'.

But Dasha is shy, lonely, and one of the least magically inclined girls in the Known World. Instead she has fits and uncontrollable visions. When she sets off with her father on her first journey away from her home kremlin, she hopes she will finally find someone who can help her come into her powers. But those whom she finds only want to use her instead. What will it take for her to unlock the abilities hidden within her, and take up her proper place in the world?

The sequel to the award-winning novel The Midnight Land, The Breathing Sea returns to the land of Zem', where animals speak, trees walk, and women rule. Filled with allusions to Russian history, literature, and fairy tales, this subversive combination of satire and high fantasy will appeal to fans of Deathless and The Bear and the Nightingale.

With discussion questions at the end.

Reading order for the Zemnian Series:

The Zemnian Series: Slava's Story
The Midnight Land I: The Flight
The Midnight Land II: The Gift


The Zemnian Series: Dasha's Story
The Breathing Sea I: Burning
The Breathing Sea II: Drowning


The Zemnian Series: Valya's Story
The Dreaming Land I: The Challenge
The Dreaming Land II: The Journey
The Dreaming Land III: The Sacrifice

Product Details

BN ID: 2940162937951
Publisher: Helia Press
Publication date: 07/21/2017
Series: The Zemnian Series: Dasha's Story , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 566,754
File size: 724 KB

About the Author

When she is not teaching Russian, E.P. Clark is probably playing with her pets or reading a wide variety of literature from around the world. She loves to hear from her readers and can be reached by email at , or on her website at https://epclarkauthor.net/, Pinterest at https://www.pinterest.com/EPClarkAuthor/, Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/epclarkauthor/, and Twitter at @EPClarkauthor. You can also sign up for her mailing list in order to get regular updates and special offers at https://dl.bookfunnel.com/m0pbthdb59.

Customer Reviews