The Broken Places (Quinn Colson Series #3)

The Broken Places (Quinn Colson Series #3)

by Ace Atkins
3.8 8


$14.64 $16.00 Save 8% Current price is $14.64, Original price is $16. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, September 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 


The Broken Places (Quinn Colson Series #3) by Ace Atkins


"Keep an eye on Ace Atkins, he can write rings around most of the names in the crime field."--Elmore Leonard
A year after becoming sheriff of Tibbehah County, Mississippi, Quinn Colson is faced with a pardoned killer’s return to Jericho. Jamey Dixon now preaches redemption and forgiveness, but the family of the woman he was convicted of killing isn’t buying it. They warn Quinn that his sister’s relationship with Dixon could be fatal. Others don’t think the new preacher is a changed man, either—a couple of dangerous convicts who confided in Dixon about an armored car robbery believe he’s after the money they hid. So they do the only thing they can: break out and head straight to Jericho, leaving a trail of bodies in their wake.

Colson and his deputy, Lillie, have their work cut out for them. But they don’t count on one more unwelcome visitor: a tornado that causes havoc just as the manhunt heats up. Communications are down, the roads are impassable—and the rule of law is just about to snap.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425267752
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/04/2014
Series: Quinn Colson Series , #3
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 137,625
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Ace Atkins, a former Pulitzer-nominated journalist, has written twelve previous novels, including The Ranger and The Lost Ones, the Edgar-nominated first novels in the Quinn Colson series. In 2011, he was selected by the Robert B. Parker Estate to continue the iconic Spenser series, which he has done with the bestsellers Robert B. Parker’s Lullaby and Robert B. Parker’s Wonderland. His previous novels include the historical crime novels, White Shadow, Wicked City, Devil’s Garden, and Infamous, and the Nick Travers series that launched his writing career. Atkins lives in Oxford, Mississippi.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Broken Places 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The problem with Ace Atkins books is that he alwys champions the jackasses and never makes them pay for anything. His "hero" was happy to expose the uncle who did everything for him while protecting random pieces of garbage who drive drunk and rob poir old women jyst because they're vets. And let's not fforget that raging piece ofcrefuse, his sister. It is way past time for her to get what's coming to her and since it will apparently never happen, I guess I'll be quitting this series. He has never once written a satisfying ending to any of his books in either series, and his protagonists' thought processes are so peculiar they might as well be from Mars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
Quinn Colson, in this third novel in the series, has just entered his 18th month as sheriff of his hometown, Jericho, Mississippi, and encounters a tough situation. A convicted killer is pardoned and comes to town, starting a church as a mail-order-ordained reverend. Moreover, to complicate Quinn’s life even more, his sister falls in love with the preacher. Then two armed, violent prisoners escape from prison, and arrive in Jericho looking for the preacher. They believe he has a significant sum of their money from a robbery they committed prior to their incarceration. To top off all the violence that ensues, a tremendous tornado practically wipes out a good portion of Jericho before the plot winds down to a conclusion. Ace Atkins is a prolific author, and has written ten novels, in addition to two under the Robert B. Parker imprint. “Broken Places” is of the same high quality as his previous efforts, with smooth dialogue, tight plotting, excellent pacing and lots of suspense. The Quinn Colson novels also highlight the sheriff’s sense of law and order and right and wrong. The author says the next book in the series will be about the unmaking of Quinn and destruction of all he’s helped build since returning home from the army. Should be worth waiting for. Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think the lost ones was a better read but this certainly was a book that left you wanting more. Quinn is an excellent character and Mr. Atkins does a great job in this 3rd edition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the first, read the second in a night and did the same with this book. As stated - it just keeps getting better. My only complaint is Mr. Atkins can't write them fast enough. But I consider that a good problem to have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago