The Carter of 'La Providence' (Maigret Series #2)

The Carter of 'La Providence' (Maigret Series #2)


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, August 23 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Carter of 'La Providence' (Maigret Series #2) by Georges Simenon

The fourth book in the new Penguin Maigret series: Georges Simenon's tragic tale of lost identity, in a gripping new translation by David Coward.

What was the woman doing here? In a stable, wearing pearl earrings, her stylish bracelet and white buckskin shoes! She must have been alive when she got there because the crime had been committed after ten in the evening. But how? And why? And no one had heard a thing! She had not screamed. The two carters had not woken up.

Inspector Maigret is standing in the pouring rain by a canal. A well-dressed woman, Mary Lampson, has been found strangled in a stable nearby. Why did her glamorous, hedonistic life come to such a brutal end here? Surely her taciturn husband Sir Walter knows - or maybe the answers lie with the crew of the barge La Providence.

Penguin is publishing the entire series of Maigret novels in new translations. This novel has been published in previous translations as Lock 14 and Maigret Meets a Milord.

'Compelling, remorseless, brilliant.' - John Gray

'One of the greatest writers of the twentieth century . . . Simenon was unequalled at making us look inside, though the ability was masked by his brilliance at absorbing us obsessively in his stories.' - The Guardian

'A supreme writer . . . unforgettable vividness.' - The Independent

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780141393469
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/01/2014
Series: Maigret Series , #2
Pages: 192
Sales rank: 284,236
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Georges Simenon (1903–1989) was born on February 12th, 1903 in Liege, Belgium. At the age of nineteen, Simenon embarked to Paris to begin a career as a writer.  In 1923 he began publishing under various pseudonyms, and in 1929 began the Inspector Maigret series which helped elevate him to a household name in continental Europe.  His prolific output of more than four hundred novels and the gripping, dark realism of his prose has cemented him as an inedlible fixture of twentieth century literature.  He died in 1989 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

David Coward is a translator from French, whose translations include works by authors such as Alexandre Dumas, Pierre Choderlos de Laclos, and the Marquis de Sade.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Carter of 'La Providence' 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is always a death in Georges Simenon's Maigret mysteries. This is not only a murder mystery but a true mystery which makes the story a fascinating read. Inspector Maigret interacts with the various characters traveling the canal - the English gentleman, the Chilean diplomat's wife, the lockkeepers, the town's folk. By Maigret's wit and wisdom he is able to sift through the subtle clues and get to the culprit. The Carter of 'La Provindence' keeps the reader until the end. The translation is an easy read. A good book to have when waiting for an appointment or to curl up at night to relax.