The Centennial Collection

The Centennial Collection

by Coleman Hawkins


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Centennial Collection

The RCA Bluebird Centennial Collections are, for the money, neat packages. In addition to a single disc covering an artists' career for the label, there is also a bonus DVD with rare TV, documentary and video footage. In the case of Coleman Hawkins, the man credited with bringing the tenor saxophone into the jazz world as a solo instrument, the 20 tunes picked here reflect the fully developed voice of the soloist in 1939 on his seminal recording "Body and Soul." Hawkins is also presented here as a focal point of McKinney's Cotton Pickers on Don Redman's "Where There's a Will" from 1929, the Mound City Blue Blowers from that same year ("If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight," and "Hello Lola"). Hawkins is also heard in the company of Fletcher Henderson and Lionel Hampton from 1934 and '39 respectively. The rest of the material comes form the 1940s when Hawkins was making records under his own name like his seminal "Angel Face," a beautiful and moving read of Harold Arlen's "I Love You," and "Bouncing With Bean," with his octet in 1940. The tunes from the '50s offer Hawkins both as a leader and as a featured soloist with Billy Byers ("The Bean Stalks Again" and "There Will Never Be Another You") and with the Henry "Red" Allen All-Stars ("Love Me or Leave Me"). Along the way are Hawkins classics such as his brilliant version of "April in Paris" recorded at Webster Hall in 1956 accompanied by Osie Johnson, Hank Jones, Urbie Green, Barry Galbraith and Arnold Fishkin with a string section. From that same session comes a quartet reading of "Body and Soul" to close the set, with Jones playing celeste in addition to piano. The DVD features five performances of Hawkins on various television programs from 1950s. Of these, his "Lover Man," from a pilot is worth the purchase price all by itself. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/24/2004
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828766008623
catalogNumber: 60086

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Coleman Hawkins   Primary Artist,Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Henry "Red" Allen   Trumpet
Buster Bailey   Clarinet
Chu Berry   Saxophone
Paul Bley   Piano
Charlie Christian   Guitar
Eddie Condon   Banjo
Allen Eager   Tenor Saxophone
Dizzy Gillespie   Trumpet
Freddie Green   Guitar
Urbie Green   Trombone
Henry Grimes   Bass
Lionel Hampton   Vocals,Vibes
Budd Johnson   Alto Saxophone
Hank Jones   Piano,Celeste
John Kirby   Bass
Gene Krupa   Drums
Shelly Manne   Drums
Fats Navarro   Trumpet
Mary Osborne   Guitar
Max Roach   Drums
Sonny Rollins   Tenor Saxophone
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Fats Waller   Piano
Ben Webster   Saxophone
Charlie Shavers   Trumpet
Cozy Cole   Drums
Marty Napoleon   Piano
Edmond Hall   Clarinet
Hal McKusick   Alto Saxophone
Gene Rodgers   Piano
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Zutty Singleton   Drums
Joe Sullivan   Piano
Nick Travis   Trumpet
Chuck Wayne   Guitar
Don Redman   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Vocals
Russell Procope   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Red McKenzie   Comb
Bernard Addison   Guitar
Cohn   Tenor Saxophone
Everett Barksdale   Guitar
Raymond Beckenstein   Flute
Benny Carter   Clarinet,Trumpet,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Artie Bernstein   Bass
Jack Bland   Guitar
Billy Byers   Conductor
Max Cahn   Violin
Leonard Davis   Trumpet
Vic Engle   Drums
Epstein   Saxophone
Jackie Fields   Saxophone
Fletcher Henderson   Piano
Pops Foster   Bass
Barry Galbraith   Guitar
Paul Gershman   Violin
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Joe Guy   Trumpet
Earl Hardy   Trombone
Clyde Hart   Piano
Arthur Herbert   Drums
J.C. Higginbotham   Trombone
Milt Hinton   Bass
Hilton Jefferson   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Osie Johnson   Drums
Keg Johnson   Trombone
Claude Jones   Trombone
Jimmy Jones   Piano
Leo Kruczek   Violin
Jack Lesberg   Bass
Lawrence Lucie   Guitar
Roy McCurdy   Drums
Sam Marowitz   Alto Saxophone
Eustis Moore   Saxophone
Fred Ohms   Trombone
Romeo Penque   Flute
Danny Polo   Clarinet
Janet Putnam   Harp
George Ricci   Cello
Tosha Samaroff   Violin
Sol Schlinger   Baritone Saxophone
Lucien Schmit   Cello
Zoot Sims   Tenor Saxophone
Joe "Fox" Smith   Trumpet
Russell Smith   Trumpet
Lloyd Trotman   Bass
Chauncey Welsch   Trombone
Marty Wilson   Vibes
Jack Satterfield   Trombone
Billy Taylor   Tuba
Arnold Fishkind   Bass
Tommy Lindsay   Trumpet
Lou Oles   Trumpet
Walter Johnson   Drums
Joe Thomas   Trumpet
Alvin Rudintsky   Violin
Marion Deveta   Baritone Saxophone
Lester Lee   Saxophone
Joseph Marshall   Drums
William McLeish Smith   Bass
Johnny Williams & His Orchestra   Bass
Glenn McGaha Miller   Trombone
James H. Brown   Alto Saxophone
Theodore McCord   Clarinet
Stanley DeParis   Trumpet
Orchestra   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Victor Herbert   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Tadd Dameron   Composer
James P. Johnson   Composer
Jolson   Composer
Hank Jones   Composer
King Pleasure   Composer
Lester Young   Composer
Don Redman   Composer
Vernon Duke   Composer
Coleman Hawkins   Composer
Red McKenzie   Composer
Manny Albam   Arranger
George Avakian   Producer
Lew Brown   Composer
Billy Byers   Arranger
Henry Creamer   Composer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Dubin   Composer
Barry Feldman   Producer,Reissue Producer
Fletcher Henderson   Arranger
Mack Gordon   Composer
Johnny Green   Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Will Hudson   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Jack Lewis   Producer
Gordon Means   Composer
Dan Morgenstern   Liner Notes,Annotation
Cole Porter   Composer
Roger "Ram" Ramirez   Composer
Vincent Rose   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Jimmy Sherman   Composer
Harry Archer   Composer
Joseph Young   Composer
Rebecca Meek   Package Art Direction
Robert Sour   Composer
Harry Akst   Composer
Sidney Clare   Composer
John Klenner   Composer
Jimmy Davis   Composer
Nathan Sedlander   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews