The Cincinnati Red Stalkings (Mickey Rawlings Series #5)

The Cincinnati Red Stalkings (Mickey Rawlings Series #5)

by Troy Soos
5.0 3


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, October 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Cincinnati Red Stalkings (Mickey Rawlings Series #5) by Troy Soos

"Equal parts baseball and mystery are the perfect proportion." —Robert Parker

The Big Dead Machine

It's 1921, and journeyman infielder Mickey Rawlings finds himself on yet another team, the Cincinnati Reds, who everyone remembers for "winning" the 1919 World Series against the infamous Chicago Black Sox. In an effort to refurbish their image, Oliver Perrimen, a die-hard Reds fan cooks up a memorabilia exhibit of the 1869 Cincinnati Red Stockings, who went undefeated in a historic coast-to-coast romp. But before the tour can reach first base, someone strikes Ollie out with a well-placed bullet. Since murder seems to follow Mickey around like a hitting slump he can't quite quit, he starts snagging clues. Soon enough he finds his hands full with a forgotten murder, breaking and entering, and an angry girlfriend. But when the game of his own life is on the line, Mickey Rawlings is a born survivor. At least he hopes. . .

Praise for the Mickey Rawlings Baseball Mysteries

"Full of life." —The New York Times Book Review on Hanging Curve

"A perfect book for the rain delay. . .a winner!" —USA Today on Murder at Fenway Park

"Delightful. . .mixing suspense, period detail that will leave readers eager for subsequent innings." —Publishers Weekly on Murder at Fenway Park

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780758287434
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 06/25/2013
Series: Mickey Rawlings Series , #5
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 944,655
Product dimensions: 5.02(w) x 7.01(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Troy Soos is a critically acclaimed author, teacher, and former research physicist. He is best known for his Mickey Rawlings series of baseball mysteries. His novels have been reviewed in the New York Times, Boston Globe, and USA Today. Soos is a member of the Mystery Writers of America and the Society for American Baseball Research. He currently lives in Lake Howell, Florida (near Winter Park, Florida).

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Cincinnati Red Stalkings: Mickey Rawlings Series, Book 5 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ken griffey jr.,Bronson arroyo,adam dunn,Shin-soo Choo,todd frazier,joey votto and more! Check out the museum that holds all of pete rose's 4,000 home runs and historic photos too!
Azra More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must say that this book was a fine baseball/mystery work. I enjoyed it thoroughly and highly reccomend it. It puts basebal and mystery in perfect balance to create a very interesting plot and climax.