The City's Son (Skyscraper Throne Series #1)

The City's Son (Skyscraper Throne Series #1)

by Tom Pollock

Hardcover

$11.04 $16.99 Save 35% Current price is $11.04, Original price is $16.99. You Save 35%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

"An impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling" —M R Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts

Beth's world is falling apart. Then she discovers a hidden London, full of marvels, magic . . . and menace. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.


Hidden under the surface of everyday London is a city where wild train spirits stampede over the tracks and glass-skinned dancers with glowing veins light the streets.

When a devastating betrayal drives her from her home, Beth stumbles into the secret city, where she finds Filius Viae, London's ragged crown prince, just when he needs someone the most. For an ancient enemy has returned to the darkness under St Paul's Cathedral, bent on reigniting a centuries-old war. Desperate to find a way to save the city they both love, they find themselves in a desperate race through this bizarre urban wonderland, but when Beth's best friend is captured, she must choose between this wondrous existence and the life she left behind.

The City's Son is the first book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy: a story about family, friends and monsters, and how you can't always tell which is which.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780738734309
Publisher: North Star Editions
Publication date: 09/08/2012
Series: Skyscraper Throne Series , #1
Pages: 480
Product dimensions: 5.19(w) x 8.00(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Tom Pollock is a graduate of the Sussex University creative writing program. In 2013, The Guardian named him one of the twenty best young novelists in science fiction. He lives and writes in London.

Read an Excerpt

Please browse inside this title with the preview below.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The City's Son 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Completely novel world - loved it.
Jess_the_reader More than 1 year ago
I really tried to read it, but after i got through about 6 chapters, i was so confused i had to stop reading. so i started skipping ahead and skimming the book, and became even more confused as things went along. I got to the end, and was thoroughly disappointed, though it was a slightly happy ending though even that was a bit confusing. No, more than a bit. I don't know what to think of this book, but it says a lot if i just ended up skimming it.
JanaRose1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After being betrayed by her best friend, Beth runs away from home only to find that everyday London is much darker and mysterious than she had thought. After meeting Filius, the underground "prince" she discovers a new world of monsters and miracles.Overall, I found the beginning of the book a bit slow. Not a lot was explained and the jumping back and forth between Beth and Filius didn't add a lot to the story. I do think that fans of urban fiction and some young adults will find this book fascinating. It is a bit unusual, but very well written and the characters are well developed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to stop reading the discription when I got to the part aboit Beth being a graffiti artist. I'm sorry, but graffiti is not a profession and its definitly not art. Its vandilism. Simple as that.