The Civil War of Amos Abernathy

The Civil War of Amos Abernathy

by Michael Leali

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on May 24, 2022

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A heartfelt debut novel about a boy’s attempt to find himself in the history he loves—perfect for fans of Dear Sweet Pea and From the Desk of Zoe Washington.

Amos Abernathy lives for history. Literally. He’s been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there’s something missing from history: someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Civil War soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he’d lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal—and hatches a plan to share Albert’s story with his divided twenty-first century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it’s one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and LGBTQ+ community will delight readers of Ashley Herring Blake, Alex Gino, or Maulik Pancholy. 



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063119888
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/24/2022
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

A historical reenactor in his youth, Michael Leali is now a writer and educator. When he’s not dreaming up stories, he’s probably playing a board game, eating cheese, or grading papers somewhere in the suburbs of Chicago. Visit Michael at www.michaelleali.com.

Customer Reviews