The Collected Works of G.A. Henty Vol. VIII

The Collected Works of G.A. Henty Vol. VIII

by G.A. Henty

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Collected Works of G.A. Henty Vol. VIII by G.A. Henty

THE COLLECTED WORKS OF G.A. HENTY VOL. VIII contains seven novels from G.A. Henty's main body of work (1893-1900). Henty's novels were an important contribution to the genre of boys' historical adventure novels, which were extremely popular in the United States, Britain, and other countries during the late 19th well into the 20th centuries. A noted imperialist, his work generally centers around a boy or young man (with occasional female protagonists as well) in an historical setting, including various colonial wars involving the British Empire. A number of Henty novels involved other historical settings, including the Punic Wars, the middle ages, and the crusades. Includes an active table of contents for easy navigation.

• Beric the Briton (1893)
• Condemned as a Nihilist (1893)
• The Tiger of Mysore (1896)
• At Agincourt (1897)
• On the Irrawaddy (1897)
• No Surrender (1900)
• Won by the Sword (1900)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013178106
Publisher: Halcyon Press Ltd.
Publication date: 08/02/2011
Series: Halcyon Classics , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

George Alfred Henty (1832-1902) was a prolific British novelist, war correspondent, imperialist, and veteran of the Crimean War. Henty developed an intense interest in history and other subjects as a child; numerous illnesses left him bedridden and reading was one of his few escapes. As a captain in the military, he reported on the Crimean War and the difficult and primitive conditions the common soldiers faced. He turned to writing stories for young readers in the 1860s, and soon proved popular. Henty often published three or four novels annually during his peak years.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews