The Collected Works of Tacitus

The Collected Works of Tacitus

by Tacitus

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Collected Works of Tacitus by Tacitus

THE COLLECTED WORKS OF TACITUS contains the five surviving works of Gaius (or Publius) Cornelius Tacitus, senator and historian of the Roman Empire. He is most well-known for his HISTORIES, which covers a period of Tacitus' life including the Year of Four Emperors (69 AD) following the downfall of Nero, the rise of Vespasian, and the rule of the Flavian Dynasty (69–96) up to the death of Domitian. It was written between 100-110 AD. His other surviving works include the THE ANNALS, much of which has not survived, on GERMANIA and AGRICOLA, and a DIALOGUE ON ORATORY. This collection also includes a short biography of Tacitus. This ebook is DRM free and includes an active table of contents for easy navigation.

• On the Life of Tacitus
• The Life of Agricola
• Germania
• A Dialogue on Oratory
• The Histories Volume I
• The Histories Volume II
• The Annals of Tacitus (complete)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013790124
Publisher: Halcyon Press Ltd.
Publication date: 12/08/2011
Series: Halcyon Classics , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Publius (or Gaius) Cornelius Tacitus (56-117 A.D.) was a Roman senator and historian. Little is known for certain of his life. He was a member of the Equestrian order, likely from a family of Gallia Narbonensis. Tacitus studied rhetoric, served as a magistrate, was a Roman Senator, and may have commanded a legion during his career. He is best known for his HISTORIES and the ANNALS, much of which have not survived.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews