The Collection

The Collection

by Janis Joplin


Sony repackaged and re-released the major albums Janis Joplin released -- Big Brother & the Holding Company's Cheap Thrills, I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama!, and Pearl -- as a slipcased box set. It's not a bad way to acquire the albums if you don't already own them, but there are no bonus tracks or new packaging or remastering, which means it's of marginal interest to hardcore collectors. [The 1995 box should not be confused with the similar 2000 version, which was issued under a new catalog number and does feature the bonus tracks, remastering, and new packaging of 1999's individual album reissues.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/1995
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646480427
catalogNumber: 64804

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Janis Joplin   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
Sandra Crouch   Tambourine
Bobby Womack   Acoustic Guitar
Luis Gasca   Trumpet
Bobbye Hall   Bongos,Conga
Sam Andrew   Guitar,Background Vocals
Phil Badella   Choir, Chorus
Maury Baker   Drums
Richard Bell   Piano,Choir, Chorus
Brad Campbell   Bass,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
Lonnie Castille   Drums
Terry Clements   Tenor Saxophone
Cornelius "Snookey" Flowers   Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone,Background Vocals
Richard Kermode   Organ
Gabriel Mekler   Organ
Sy Mitchell   Choir, Chorus
Vince Mitchell   Choir, Chorus
Ken Pearson   Organ,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
Clark Pierson   Drums,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
John Till   Guitar,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
John Byrne Cooke   Choir, Chorus
Richard Bell   Piano,Group Member
John Cooke   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Janis Joplin   Composer,Engineer
Bobby Womack   Composer
Bob Neuwirth   Composer
Mort Shuman   Composer
Nick Gravenites   Composer
John Hall   Composer
Chip Taylor   Composer
Mark Spoelstra   Composer
John Simon   Original Album Producer
Dan Penn   Composer
Peter Albin   Composer
Sam Andrew   Composer,Author
Phil Badella   Contributor
Richard Barrett   Composer
Bert Berns   Composer
Fred Catero   Engineer
Michael Friedman   Back Cover
David Getz   Composer,Author
Maurice Gibb   Composer
James Gurley   Composer,Engineer
Jerry Hochman   Engineer
Alex Kazanegras   Engineer
Edwin H. Kramer   Engineer
Phil Macy   Engineer
Elliot Mazer   Producer
Michael McClure   Composer
Gabriel Mekler   Arranger,Producer,Original Album Producer
Sy Mitchell   Engineer
Spooner Oldham   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Paul Rothchild   Producer,Author
Bob Russell   Composer
Roy Segal   Engineer
Bruce Steinberg   Cover Photo
Bert Russell   Composer
Bob Irwin   Producer,Reissue Producer
David Gahr   Contributor
Fred Lombardi   Back Cover
Baron Wolman   Cover Photo
Smay Vision   Art Direction
Elliott Landy   Tray Photo
Nicholas Bennett   Packaging Manager
John Byrne Cooke   Liner Notes
Richard DiLello   Back Cover
Traditional   Composer
Norman Meade   Composer
Lee Osborne   Engineer
Fred L. Foster   Composer
T. B. Harms   Composer
John Cooke   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews