The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set

The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set

by Antoinette Stockenberg

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set by Antoinette Stockenberg

In the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey, BY THE SEA is a four-book series that sweeps from the Gilded Age through the Gatsby Era's Roaring Twenties and then on to the Great Depression, culminating nearly a century later in Newport, Rhode Island, wealthy and alluring "City by the Sea." Set against a backdrop of mansions, the glorious America's Cup Yacht Races, and new money, the series traces the passions and adventures of three families from three different classes.

Book One: TESS. From the wild decadence of late nineteenth-century Newport comes the tale of Tess Moran, a beautiful Irish housemaid in one of the grand summer "cottages," who makes a dark bargain with a man of commanding wealth -- and falls in love in the bargain.

Book Two: AMANDA. Marrying American money to an English title is a tradition of its own; but Amanda Fain, a brash heiress with money to burn, has a fondness for Bolsheviks and bootleg liquor that makes her an unlikely match for the reluctant, ironic, and impoverished English aristocrat Geoffrey Seton, who has been ordered to America to find someone who can pay the bills for the family estate back home.

Book Three: LAURA. While the Great Depression grinds relentlessly on, Laura Andersson, a Midwestern farm girl with an improbable love of the sea, embarks on a bold adventure that promises riches but delivers passion, one that threatens all she holds dear.

Book Four: THE HEIRS is the dramatic conclusion to the four-book series BY THE SEA. Economic hard times are a distant memory in high-flying, recent-day Newport, home of the oldest and most prestigious trophy in the world, the Holy Grail of sport--the America's Cup. Here, the descendants of Tess, Amanda and Laura play out their destinies, their paths crossing in unforeseen ways: Mavis Moran, Neil Powers, his daughter Quinta, and America's Cup skipper Alan Seton all find themselves caught in a web of mystery, sabotage, and conflicting desires.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940150494305
Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg
Publication date: 10/13/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 44,287
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

USA Today bestselling novelist Antoinette Stockenberg grew up wanting to be a cowgirl and have her own horse (her great-grandfather bred horses for the carriage trade back in the old country), but the geography just didn't work out: there weren't many ranches in Chicago. Her other, more doable dream was to write books, and after stints as secretary, programmer, teacher, grad student, boatyard hand, office manager and magazine writer (in that order), she achieved that goal, writing over a dozen novels, several of them with paranormal elements. One of them is the RITA award-winning EMILY'S GHOST.

Stockenberg's books have been published in a dozen languages and are often set in quaint New England harbor towns, always with a dose of humor. She writes about complex family relationships and the fallout that old, unearthed secrets can have on them. Sometimes there's an old murder. Sometimes there's an old ghost. Sometimes once-lovers find one another after half a lifetime apart.

Her work has been compared to writers as diverse as Barbara Freethy, Nora Roberts, LaVyrle Spencer and Mary Stewart by critics and authors alike, and her novels have appeared on bestseller lists in USA Today as well as the national bookstore chains. Her website features sample chapters, numerous reviews, many photos, and an enchanting Christmas section. www.antoinettestockenberg.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
GF1n2 More than 1 year ago
Great book series- Just this week I toured two mansions in Newport and the characters of Book one came to life in the mansions and streets of Ocean Blvd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Antoinette's writing. The By The Sea Series is one of her best. Keep it up, Antoinette! Whatever you write, I will read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved every one of the four books. Romance, mystery, adventure, history, this series has it all. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like Antoinette Stockenberg you will love this series! She is great couldn't wait to pick them back up to continue reading!!
sidneykay More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first three books - the third one seemed to drag just a bit at the beginning for me - but it finally "took off", too. I would recommend this box set.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I usually get a little bored with a several book set, but this one kept me interested all the way through the twists and turns of the character's lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Generational story, fast paced. I read all four books in a row and enjoyed them very much.
Anonymous 8 months ago
This set features three strong women living in elite Newport RI during different time periods. With the backdrop of the Americas cup sailing race, each woman faces unique situatuions briught on by their own choices and by the socioeconomic factors of the particulat time period. All three families are satisfyingly united in the fourth novel. These novels are well written and interesting with doses of history, romance, mystery and intrigue throughout. ?...wjj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the stories
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This very quickly turned into a pretty steamy sex story. Not what I wanted to read at all. I just stopped reading the first book and I won't be starting the others.