The Complete D Singles Collection, Vol. 2

The Complete D Singles Collection, Vol. 2

CD(Box Set)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Complete D Singles Collection, Vol. 2

Pappy Dailey's homegrown, Houston, Texas label that rose from the ashes of his Starday tie-in was D, a label that issued everything from rockabilly, to Mexican dance music, to the stray doo-wop side. What it generally excelled at was top-notch local hillbilly and country bands and singers, sometimes leasing home grown masters from places as far away as Canada. These are records full of raw, visceral power, unvarnished beauty and often glimpses of talent that could-have-been alongside the local heroes and run-of-the-mill Joes hoping for a break. As such, it's a marvelous document of primarily Texas country and western music in the marketplace in the late '50s. This four-disc Bear Family set is the second entry into a multi-volume complete run of all the singles that were issued on Dailey's D label, with the added bonus on this volume of some unissued material that's as good or better than the singles that were issued. Kicking off Disc One are three perfect examples of that emanating from the Utah Carl session that produced his single from Volume One. Here, he and his regular working band deliver heartfelt and straightforward and welcome additions to the man's scant discography. Almost a third of the 29 tracks are previously unissued items from Merl Lindsay, Ted Doyle, Doug Bragg and Detroit hillbilly, Billy Martin. Of course, just when you think you have the label pegged as strictly one thing or another, up pops successive single runs by Eddie Burke (Black boogie woogie piano man), Rufus Thibodeaux (Cajun fiddler), Ward Allen (Canadian old-time fiddler), Dee Mullin (country pop-rock), Homer Lee Sewell (old time cowboy singing) and Gaston Ponce Castellanos (Mexican dance band)! Disc Two yields treasures from Jack Rivers, doo woppers the Velvetones, Billy Walker moonlighting as the Traveling Texans, Country Johnny Mathis, William Tell Taylor, and Little Joe Carson. High in the oddity department are Tommy Durden's baseball novelty "The Bee," and pop sludge from Jean and Glenn Smith's "Calendar in Blue." Disc Three kicks off with Willie Nelson's first commercial recording, then delivers fine entries from, among others, Cecil Bowman, Billy Jack Hale, Jimmy & Johnny and Danny Ross (the original version of "The Last Town I Painted"). The final disc in the set features a real mixed bag with a distinct regional feel. Everything from Dave Edge's rocker "Wham Bam," to pleasing pop from Glenn, bouncy country pop from Shirley Rucker, Johnny Cash-style country from Durwood Daily, polkas from Ernie Kucera, hardcore honky tonk from Tony Douglas and Merl Lindsay, teen balladry from William Tell Taylor, to Leon Payne's sobering "Brothers of a Bottle" makes this disc just as strong as the preceding three. D was a label that stayed individual and independent right to the end and this second volume is a welcome addition to any country and American music collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/09/1999
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127158338
catalogNumber: 15833


Disc 1

  1. Because I Trusted You
  2. I Still Miss You
  3. Counterfeit Heart
  4. Meanwhile
  5. I'm Tired of Writing Letters
  6. We've Got a Lot to Be Thankful For
  7. I'll Be Thinking of You Dear
  8. Don't Do That Again
  9. One More Mistake
  10. You'll Have to Give (Just a Little)
  11. If You Don't Love Me (Let Me Go)
  12. Tears I Couldn't Hide
  13. Angel
  14. Too Many Tears
  15. Rock Mop
  16. Sauce Piquant
  17. Louisiana Festival
  18. Frisco Waltz
  19. Two Step Polka
  20. I've Really Got a Right to Cry
  21. The World's a Lie
  22. Whisper Your Name
  23. She's Mad at Me
  24. Falso-Querer
  25. Paloma-Mentirosa
  26. Most Beautiful
  27. Your Heart Don't Love
  28. Ramble
  29. Who Knows

Disc 2

  1. If You Were Mine
  2. Should Have Known
  3. Worried Over You
  4. Space Men
  5. Hey Girl
  6. Time Gives Me Pleasure
  7. Swanee River Gal
  8. Band Stand Stomp
  9. My Blues
  10. The Real Thing
  11. Geronimo
  12. End of the Evening
  13. Deep in the Heart of a Fool
  14. The Bee
  15. Song of Blue Love
  16. Beating on the Bars
  17. I Don't Know How I Can Live
  18. Run Please Run
  19. Answer to Life to Go
  20. I've Got It
  21. I Can't Ever Free My Mind
  22. Uh Huh
  23. Memory of a Lie
  24. One More Night
  25. Calender in Blue
  26. The Real Thing
  27. Time Lock
  28. Careless Words

Disc 3

  1. Man with the Blues
  2. The Storm Has Just Begun
  3. Cotton
  4. Curse of Wine
  5. Don't Tell Me, Show Me
  6. Sad Girl
  7. When the Blues Comes Walking In
  8. Unfinished Castle
  9. Out of Town Joe
  10. Danger Moved West
  11. Good Luck Billy
  12. I Take My Hat off to the Blues
  13. My Little Baby
  14. All I Need Is Time
  15. Takes a Lot of Heartaches
  16. I Shot Sam
  17. There Goes My Baby
  18. Having Fun with Another
  19. Your Wicked Love
  20. At Home with Mom
  21. Loneliness
  22. Best Part of Me
  23. Man on the Wall
  24. Relief Is Just a Swallow Away
  25. One Step Ahead of Sorrow
  26. Just One More Glass
  27. The Last Town I Painted
  28. You Finally Walked Out

Disc 4

  1. Wham Bam
  2. Night of Lonliness
  3. New Girl in School
  4. Go Home Letter (I Wish I Were You)
  5. You Take More Than I Can
  6. I Hear Your Footsteps
  7. What Difference Does It Make
  8. East Dallas Dagger
  9. When When Polka
  10. Ernies Polka
  11. That's All I Need
  12. You'll Have to Pay
  13. Old Man Love
  14. Too Much to Lose
  15. Your Wedding Day
  16. I'm Gonna Hang Around You Baby
  17. Angel of Love
  18. Love Is Everywhere
  19. Stolen Kisses
  20. Is It Too Late
  21. Country Boys Dream
  22. What Am I to Do
  23. Brothers of a Bottle
  24. Mitzie McGraw
  25. Branded for Life
  26. My Philosophy
  27. Sweet Cake & Kisses
  28. Tea Leaves Don't Lie

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews