The Complete Delius Songbook, Vol. 1

The Complete Delius Songbook, Vol. 1

by Mark Stone

CD(Jewel Case)

$16.84 $18.99 Save 11% Current price is $16.84, Original price is $18.99. You Save 11%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, August 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Complete Delius Songbook, Vol. 1

As demonstrated by this first volume of the complete songs of Frederick Delius, as well as a previous album of the complete songs of George Butterworth, and English Love: Songs of Passion, Pain & Pleasure, baritone Mark Stone and pianist Stephen Barlow appear to have embarked on a quest to record the overlooked songs of British composers from the late 19th and early 20th century; this project has considerable artistic merit, if not obvious commercial advantages. On this album, the songs Delius composed on texts by Shakespeare, Tennyson, Shelley, Henley, and others, as well as English translations of Norwegian poetry by Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson and Henrik Ibsen, are largely cast in a late-Romantic style, typical of sentimental parlor music of the fin de siècle. The music is delivered with assurance and sincerity by Stone, whose strong voice is effectively supported by Barlow's subtle accompaniment. Yet these are not first-rate art songs, and despite the interest fans of Delius might have for them, they are not typical of his mature impressionism. Instead, his harmonies and lyrical melodies are quite similar to the style of his friend and mentor, Edvard Grieg, who encouraged him early in his career. Admirers of gentle and soothing vocal music will find this CD attractive, and they may well explore Stone's other recordings on his own label for similar fare.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2011
Label: Stone Records
UPC: 5060192780062
catalogNumber: 80062
Rank: 300879


  1. Songs (5) from the Norwegian, for voice & piano, RT v/5
  2. English Songs (3), for voice & piano, RT v/12
  3. Jeh havde en nyskaaren Seljefløjte, song for voice & piano, RT v/14
  4. Skogen gir susende langsam besked, song for voice & piano, RT v/10
  5. I-Brasîl, song for voice & piano, RT v/28
  6. The nightingale has a lyre of gold, song for voice & piano (or orchestra), RT v/25
  7. Songs (2) for Children, for chorus & piano, RT v/29: 1. Little birdie
  8. Songs of Sunset, for mezzo-soprano, baritone, chorus & orchestra, RT ii/5: They are not long, the weeping and the laughter
  9. Hochgebirgsleben, song for voice & piano, RT v/6
  10. Over the Mountains High, song for voice & piano, RT v/2
  11. Old English Lyrics, songs (4) for voice & piano, RT v/30
  12. Songs (7) from the Norwegian, for voice & piano, RT v/9

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mark Stone   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews